Tis the Season

Every year I try to organize myself so that I will have a nice relaxing December. This year I planned it down to the very last detail, except for one thing…time. I know there are 15 days left until Christmas but somehow I am behind in my baking, wrapping and various other projects. How did I do this again, you may ask?

Well apparently I didn’t plan my time accordingly as it was so nicely pointed out to me by a friend yesterday.

This weekend I have to cram in some baking, wrapping and a 3 dog vet appointment. If I was able to split myself in two, this would be the weekend.

Normally this amount of things to do does not bother me, what bothers me is I can’t find some recipes for things I want to bake.

A couple of years ago I became lactose intolerant. It has taken me a few years but I have finally figured out how to make things that I can eat without having to take pills. It is still a struggle for some recipes (dairy free mayo where are you??) but I have been successful at figuring out most things. Until this year.

This year I am in desperate need of a delicious fruit cake, log cake and square recipes that I can easily convert to lactose free. In other words nothing that uses condensed milk as I have not yet been able to recreate that milk free.

So if anyone has any recipes that are easy, quick (as time is not on my side this month) and that I can easily convert please for the love of Pete let me know :)

Damn! I forgot I still have to finish decorating too … Oh boy this could get interesting :)

About angelascavone

I am, now, a published author. I generally write contemporary romantic comedy but would like to venture into other categories at some point.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes from Angela!. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tis the Season

  1. Jamie Brazil says:

    Vegan-aise works in place of mayo. It’s about $8 jar @ New Seasons, but if you’re not in a hurry for mayo I like David Gabbe’s vegan recipes. I took his “cheesy dairy free” class and started following his work. Just amazing all the stuff you can make with beans… and it really tastes like cheese, too. Good luck!

  2. One word: vegenaise!

    I’m allergic to eggs, so I can’t have mayo either (and gads, I miss it! I didn’t become allergic until after the birth of my son). Vegan cookbooks have been very helpful. I still can’t get cake to taste right (it’s good, but not…like cake), but I think I’ve mastered cookies, scones and fudge. It’s all about the coconut milk!

    Then again, my kids don’t really know the difference, and I’m just happy to eat something sweet, so maybe it’s not as good as I think it is!

    Great post! I was just thinking how far behind I am in making my peppermint bark. I guess I’d better get up and get cracking!

  3. B.J. Scott says:

    My hubby became lactose intollerant a few years back too, so it meant major changes in baking and cooking products. I found a product at the grocery stores, Walmart and the Shoppers Drug Marts(Canadian ;)) that sell groceries have it too It is called Natura and it comes in a carton you don’t have to refrigerate until you open it. They have an unsweetened version that you can use just like milk in any baking or cooking and it tastes great. The sweetened lactose free milks tend to have a taste that changes the flavor of your cooking. This stuff is wonderful and it costs less than a quart of regular milk.

    You are like most of us, great intentions and plans to be ready ahead of time and not yet done. Rather than beat yourself up over it, just know you are in good company, take things in stride and breathe. Had the three dog vet trip in past so know where you are coming from though LOL We now have four dogs yikes!

  4. Susan Muller says:

    My grandson is allergic to milk, eggs, cheese, nuts, garlic and some other things. Cooking for him is challenging, but soy is a lifesaver. I have a fridge filled with soy butter, soy yogurt, and that old standby, soy icecream.

    You’ll get the baking, shopping, and decorating done, but three dogs at the vet? Wow, that’s hard.

  5. There is just so much to do & life gets in the way. You are far more organized than I am. Holiday hugs!

  6. Oh my. I’m definitely in the same boat, but mine’s more like a runaway oil tanker, lol. We are just starting to do everything for Christmas. We are getting the tree tonight. And just starting shopping. This is going to be a crazy next couple of weeks.

  7. revrosevan says:

    I have no suggestions about the lactose intolerance, but I can definitely relate to feeling a bit behind this season! Let’s all raise a glass and toast to our successes, which have obviously left us with little time to devote to holiday stuff. :-)

  8. Marilyn says:

    My daughter is allergic to cow’s milk…she drinks soy milk…She said Silk is really good.

  9. Thanks everyone for the great suggestions and I’m very glad to know I am in good company :)

Leave a Reply

