Kendra’s here talking about inspiration

Writers are often asked, “Where do you get your ideas?”

Where do I get them?

Everywhere.

But then that leads to a problem for me. I have so many ideas surfing around in my brain it makes it very confusing about which one should I follow. Which one will lead me along enough of a twisting path that a reader would want to continue the journey with me accepting that they may have to suspend belief along the way.

I also need to find an idea that I will want to continue with to the end. I am a great starter. I have so many projects started, WIP’s that may never see the light of day. But this year I want to change that. I have resolutions. To name a few: I want to get my house in order, give away cloths and possessions I no longer need, clean up papers I have been letting pile up for years, give away some of the books that are flooding my house, and most importantly, to¬†organize my writing area so that I can find room to write. Hopefully, weeding through my house will make room for more to come into my life.

This year, I have goals. ¬†Concrete goals. The main one is to finish off all the WIP’s and get them out there so they can find a home. I plan on shooting an arrow for the sun and if I hit a few stars on the way, that is okay too.

Too lofty you say. Maybe.

But I have a dream. A dream of having my writing be the only job I need to sustain my lifestyle, all the techy gadgets I love and the travelling I want to do, not to mention all those books I want to write.

Remember all those ideas surfing around in my brain. Well, with a lot of will power, a heaping dose of inspiration, and an angel on my shoulder, I hope to give those ideas a voice.

So here’s to inspiration!

Kendra James (also writing as Bev Irwin)

 

 

About kendrajames4

I'm a registered nurse and a mother of three and a grandmother of one beautiful girl named Jasmine. I have been writing poetry since I was a child and ventured into short stories and novels after an injury with a horse gave me time off nursing job. It was a broken hand that took more time to heal than it should have but gave me a chance to write my first two children's stories and a large chunk of my first novel that may someday be publishable. Now I write mystery, romance and Y/A. I like to add a medical bit to my writing either with a physical or psychological aspect. I love attending writing conferences and meeting other writers from different parts the world. WHEN HEARTS COLLIDE is my first novel, a contemporary/medical romance was published with Soul Mate Publishing in December of 2011. My youth novel, GHOSTLY JUSTICE, and my women's suspense, MISSING CLAYTON, will be published with Black Opal Books in 2012.
This entry was posted in Kendra's In the House!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kendra’s here talking about inspiration

  1. Mandi Casey says:

    That is so true! Great post. I’ve found tgat sometimes a plot will fully evolve after the basics are set, like putting color and sparkle to a painting, but with words :)

  2. revrosevan says:

    Great goals, Kendra! i hope all your dreams come true!

  3. May your inspirations become stories readers will love. Great post, Bev.

  4. kendrajames4 says:

    Thanks, Ladies
    May all our dreams come true and may inspiration sit like an angel on our shoulders.

  5. Erin says:

    I’m right there with you! Three works in progress. Zero finished. The story I began 2 1/2 years ago has changed so much it isn’t recognizable anymore. My goal is to finish that book this year. Good luck with your goal! You can do it!

  6. kendrajames4 says:

    I find it so much more fun to start something new than work on what i should be working on.

Leave a Reply

