Take a Bow

As I sat down at my computer thinking of the subject of my post, I was steered in an entirely different direction  than the one I had envisioned.  Much the same way as when I’m writing a manuscript.

Two months ago when I wrote my first post, I related how I began my career in writing but failed to tell you anything about myself or my book, Fair Play.  Many of you expressed interest, and I promised I would write about it in February. As with what usually happens when I write, my next post drifted in another direction.

So this month I decided to write about my book, but instead my thoughts were filled with my SMP sisterhood and I was compelled to write them down.

Over the last couple of months I have gotten to know many of you through Facebook, Twitter and your blogs. What I have discovered is that I have been privileged to be inducted into an amazing group of women who are dedicated, caring individuals who go out of their way to support each other, both career-wise and personally. A group of women with an overabundance of talent, wit, and wisdom, who do not hesitate to help when they are needed. They have given me a small glimpse of their lives and I have found that each and every one of them are busy writing and promoting their books, yet still finding the time to put on the myriad of other hats that they selflessly don for their family and friends.

As a member of this sisterhood I would like to give you a glimpse into my life so you can better get to know me. While I don’t wear half the hats you do, I do have a few other titles, besides author, which require my attention. I am a wife, mother and grandmother and would like to introduce you to my tribe.  I say tribe because my immediate family consists of 38 people, not including pets. I have 7 grown children with mates and 23 grandchildren, and we’re still growing. I also have a large number of children and grandchildren by unofficial adoption. You can imagine the menagerie when we get together.

I know what you’re thinking and you’re right. We are a large group but not as large as I had hoped. My husband and I originally wanted 9 children - yes I did say 9 - but after my 7th I was unable to have more. Yes, I do know that the earth is overpopulated, but I felt the need to contribute nonetheless and have never regretted a second of it. Of course when my children became older, they did purchase a TV for our bedroom so I would stop reproducing.

My life is not perfect, as aren’t my children, but each and every one of them support me wholeheartedly and are generous, loving people, who welcome everyone without judgment or reservation.  I can say that now because they’re grown up, but believe me there were days when I wasn’t sure I would let them live.

As time goes on I’m sure other facets of my personality will come out, but I’ll let you discover them for yourself, so I still retain some mystery.

We continue to add to our sisterhood and I look forward to getting to know every one of you. Welcome and I’m sure you’ll find the camaraderie that I have.

When you finish reading this you should hear a loud noise - that it is the sound of my hands applauding you for the talented, wonderful group of writers that you are and that I have the good fortune of working with.

About jannashay

Author of contemporary romance and romantic suspense. Professional Reviewer InD'tale Magazine, Editor Jules-Faulkner Publishing LLC, and freelance Editor. Visit me at http://www.jannashay.com - Facebook - Twitter - Goodreads - Romance Novel Center
This entry was posted in Author, Books, Friends, Janna's Gems, Publishing, Romance, Social Media, Soul Mate Publishing, Writing, Writing career and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Take a Bow

  1. What a generous soul! Thank you for being so grateful. WE are lucky to have you, Jannashay. Best of luck with Fair Play.

  2. What a wonderful post! Thanks Jannashay.

  3. Jamie Brazil says:

    Love your post on the importance of family, and yes, the SMP sisterhood is truly special!

  4. Susan Muller says:

    We are lucky to have you in our group. Good luck with Fair Play.

  5. I just found your blog and am enjoying your posts filled with truth, and camaraderie. I am following and hope you will consider following me too. Thanks Suzanne

    http://www.suzannepurvis.blogspot.com

    • jannashay says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed my post. I’m already following your post and have sent a friend request through your facebook. I hope you will accept me as a friend.

  6. kendrajames4 says:

    Lovely post. What more can we ask for than our children be kind, loving, individuals. Hats off to you Jannashay.

  7. AM Bishop says:

    Jannashay, we are honored to call you our literary sister. Your post was lovely and I know your husband and family are singing your praises as much as you have the SMP sisterhood. We can’t wait for your novel FAIR PLAY!

  8. Katy Lee says:

    What a great post, JannaShay! The SMP authors are really terrific. You hit that one on the head, BUT I am still looking forward to hearing about Fair Play! :)

  9. jannashay says:

    You’re very kind. I’m so happy you’ve joined our sisterhood.
    The next time I post, I’ll try to steer my thoughts towards Fair Play.

  10. Pauline says:

    Janna – am so enjoying getting to know you via Twitter and Facebook, and am very much looking forward to reading Fair Play!

    Knowing a bit about the real person behind a book brings it so much more depth! Can’t wait to learn more. Blessings!

    • jannashay says:

      Thanks Pauline. Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I’m also enjoying getting to know you through Twitter and Facebook.
      Thanks for the friendship and hope you have success in everything you do.

Leave a Reply

