Juliette’s in the House! Please Welcome Juliette Spring, Author of SARIM’S SCENT!

SMP:  Juliette, welcome! Tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

Juliette:  I  write about the darker side of romance, and am the alter ego of a Southern chick who is a mother of three (two teenage girls and a wild three year old). In another life I’m a special education teacher. I love the paranormal (especially vamps) and devour romance novels (particularly paranormal). I’m also addicted to the Vampire Diaries, and love Harry Potter, Twilight (Team Jacob) and True Blood. I’m a paranormal romance author, whose book Sarim’s Scent is being released with Soulmate Publishing.

SMP:  Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Juliette:  I’ve always wanted to become a writer. Ideas have floated through my head for years. I wished I had written them down. I wrote throughout high school and college. When I became a single mother I ignored the ideas, pushed writing to the back burner and became a teacher to provide for my family.

SMP:  When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

Juliette:  Seeing my name in print was always a dream of mine. I started pursuing it seriously in 2010 and finished the novel I started ten years prior.

SMP:  How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

Juliette:  I started my first novel Sarim’s Scent about twelve years ago. I put it down, when life interrupted. After so many years of denying myself the one thing (besides being a mother) I enjoyed I picked it up and finished it in three months.

SMP:  Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

Juliette:  I’ve written in all types of environments, similar to the ones you’ve mentioned. The environment preferred is with white noise (I usually listen to music to have the television on in the background)

SMP:  Literary Inspiration: throughout your life, what novels have lifted you, made you think, “Someday I want to create something like that….”

Juliette:  I read Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau in college. Their poetry always inspired me to search for the deeper meaning of life. I do write poetry and would love to publish my pieces and have them positively impact someone.

SMP:  Let’s talk about romance. How do you set the mood for your characters, what do you draw from that helps your H/H achieve oneness with each other? And how much conflict do you give them, along the way?

Juliette:  I am a drama queen! I love soap operas and romances with a lot of conflict. I love giving my characters a lot of struggles because it makes the story more emotional. I draw from situations that could happen in real life and things that make me say “I wonder what would happen if ….”

SMP:  What shining moment in your journey stands out the most as a real turning point for you as a writer?

Juliette:  When editors began requesting the full manuscript of Sarim’s Scent, it hit me that this may be something good.

SMP:  Writers face many challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

Juliette:  My biggest challenge is pushing myself to get the story out of my head and on paper/computer screen and finding the time to do it. Once that is done the second hardest thing is proofreading it.  As a writer you just have to decide to make writing a priority and make the time for it. I don’t want to be on my death bed regretting the fact I never worked or fought for my dreams to become true. That’s my motivation.

SMP:  What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

Juliette:  Knowing my novel will be available for purchase and seeing my work in print/e-print makes all of the hard work and frustrations worth it!

SMP:  What aspects of the writing process do you find most challenging?

Juliette:  Proofreading and editing are challenging. After I write a story I usually want to be done with it and start working on something new! Because of that I procrastinate a lot when it comes to the proofreading/editing process.

SMP:  Who or what sparks the ideas for your stories?

Juliette:  Ideas spark from songs, life events or something I saw on television I feel would make a good romance story.

SMP:  Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

Juliette:  Currently I’m working on HFN romance about characters from different backgrounds that have to work through racism and trust issues. It has paranormal elements.

SMP:  We asked Juliette to share a few little-known facts about herself.

Juliette:  I write poetry, listen to NPR, love 80’s music and am obsessed with The Vampire Dairies and True Blood.

 Be careful what you look for…

All her life Victoria wanted to meet her missing father, certain he had the answers she was seeking. Fueled with thoughts of anger and revenge it wasn’t until her mother’s death she embarked on the journey to find him. Her journey leads her into the arms of her childhood friend, Ivan-the only man she lets close to her heart. He understands her and has always been her confidant. But would he continue to be if she revealed all of her secrets and the real reason she’s searching for her father.

Ivan was weary of living a lie. Unable to walk away from family obligations, he’s been forced to deceive the only woman he’s cared about ….who, he realizes, is his mate. Ivan knows he’s doing the unforgivable and it’s just a matter of time before she finds out the truth. He can’t resist the chemistry between them nor deny the sensuous passion he experiences with Victoria.

A heated encounter seals the fate of Victoria and Ivan. After discovering the true depth of Ivan’s deception, Victoria must decide if she can truly trust Ivan and trust that the mate’s bond they share is enough to protect their relationship from her father’s wrath and Ivan’s ex-lover.

SMP:  Juliette, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

Juliette’s soon-to-be-released debut novel, SARIM’S SCENT, will be available at Soul Mate Publishing, Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Juliette’s Giveaway!

To share her love of paranormal romance, Juliette will be giving away a Paranormal Romance Prize Pack filled with seven new paperback paranormal romance novels from some of her favorite authors (Heather Graham, Nalini Singh, etc.), to one lucky commenter. Because this involves mailing the contest is open to US residents only. Please include your email address with your comment.

About charchaffin2011

Writer
This entry was posted in Contemporary Romance, Juliette's Tidbits!, Spring Blog-a-Thon and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Juliette’s in the House! Please Welcome Juliette Spring, Author of SARIM’S SCENT!

  1. Enjoyed your interview, Juliette! Best of luck with Sarim’s Scent. I’m looking forward to reading it!

  2. It was nice learning about you, Juliette. Best of luck with Sarim’s Scent. I wish you many sales.

  3. Katy Lee says:

    I was a huge soap opera fan growing up. What are your favorites?? :) I will say I don’t watch them regularly now, but every now and then I check in to see what’s changed.

    I was a Special Ed teacher too. Now I homeschool, so I’m not in the schools anymore. My husband would love for me to go back, but I’m thinking this writing thing is pretty cool.

    • Hi Katy Lee! I love Days of Our Lives & The Young & the Restless. I don’t watch them regularly either (thank God for DVR). I love the writing thing too, but Special Ed. sucks the life out of me at times. Definately thinking of a career switch!

  4. Love that cover. Sizzling!

  5. darcyflynn says:

    Ooo, vampires. Have you ever seen, Moonlight? It was only on CBS one season but a fabulous show. My husband and I both loved it.
    I have a photo of Paul Wesley with my son. They worked on a film together in 2008. Paul had just turned down the role in Vampire Diaries and told my son he thought he’d made a mistake in doing that. Several months later, Paul was staring in the series. He must have changed his mind! lol If you’d like a copy of that photo, email me and I’ll send it to you!
    Good luck with Sarim’s Scent!

    • I would love a copy of that picture! I’m a Vampire Diaries addict! I love the chracter of Damon Salvatore-nothing like a bad boy with a good heart! Thanks for the kind words!

  6. Susan Muller says:

    Welcome Juliette. Glad to have you with us. Good luck with Sarim’s Scent. With that cover, you can’t miss.

  7. Great to meet you, Juliette! And I have to cyber wave to my peeps in Special Ed! (I’m a Speech Pathologist).

    Sarim’s Secret sounds great, and is now in my TBR list!

  8. Best of luck with Sarim’s Scent, Julia. It sounds like a great plot with lots of conflict. With characters like that, you can’t miss!

  9. Sarim’s Scent release date is May 16th. I am so excited! Thanks for all the kind words and encouragement! Soulmate Publishing authors/commenters are awesome!

  10. Jamie Brazil says:

    The 80′s era truly rocked. Go Juliette!!! It’s great to get to know you better.

  11. mandicasey says:

    Can’t wait to read your novel! Sounds like a perfect read and right up my alley :) congrats! And I love your cover!

  12. Nice to learn about you Juliette. Good luck with Sarim’s Scent!

  13. Cool cover! Cool interview! Cool title!

  14. kendrajames4 says:

    Great post. Love your cover Juliette. Won’t add an email as I’m Canadian.

  15. ravenraye says:

    Great interview! Ralph Waldo Emerson was the subject of my HS term paper. I loved his imagery and prose. Good luck with your novel. I can’t wait til it comes out. I’m team Edward- cuz every man should be like Edward.

    Raven

  16. Welcome aboard Juliette! Big soap opera fan here.

  17. jannashay says:

    Great interview. Sarim’s Scent sounds so interesting. It’s now on my TBR list.
    Thank you for sharing. Good luck with your writing career.

Leave a Reply

