Join the Tribe!

Happy Friday! Casey Wyatt here!

I’m here to tell you about another social media site. Now, before you roll your eyes, sigh, and declare, “Not another thing I have to use” – let me tell you, this one is great for us Twitter and Facebook fans. Or is that fanatics?

It’s called Triberr. Triberr is designed to “multiple your reach.” Unlike other social media sites, you must be invited to join a group, called a tribe.

Triberr works by tapping into your blog’s RSS feed. Every time you post a blog, it goes into Triberr and your tribe mates can choose to share your blog post to all their Twitter followers. Right now, my current twitter followers = 1,145. With Triberr, I can now reach 65,558 other twitter followers, hence “multiple your reach.” If you have your Twitter and Facebook connected, then the blog link will also appear on you Facebook page too.

BUT (and you know there has to be one), proceed with caution.

Here’s what you shouldn’t do with Triberr – treat it like another social networking site and join tribes willy-nilly.

The last thing you want to do is annoy your followers with a constant stream of links. Only join tribes of like-minded people. I’m in a tribe for Sci-Fi/Fantasy writers. I’m also in several other tribes devoted to writers and writing.

Also, Triberr is not completely free of cost. Each person who joins Triberr receives 100 bones (bones = money). In order to join a tribe, the person inviting you must pay bones and you must pay bones. Once you are out of bones (and if you want more), you will need to buy them. With real money. I haven’t done this yet. (And I doubt I will.)

Caution aside, Triberr has increased traffic to my blog and it saves me time. I’ve also gained new writer friends, read some really interesting blogs, and as promised increased my reach.

Anyone else out there using Triberr? What has your experience been? If you aren’t using it, are you willing to take a shot?

About Casey Wyatt

I write Urban Fantasy & Paranormal Romance. Come visit me at my site - caseywyatt.com. I can also be found at secretsof7scribes.wordpress.com and smpauthors.wordpress.com. Thanks for visiting me today!
This entry was posted in Casey's Up!, Facebook, Marketing, Networking, Time Management, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Join the Tribe!

  1. Hey Casey,

    I’ve joined Triberr, but for now, it’s lonely old me! (Mostly because I have no idea how it works, so I went on it once and now….uh…what?)

  2. Susan M says:

    Isn’t it a little awkward to ask someone to let you join their tribe if it will cost them money? And how do you find a tribe to join?

    • Casey Wyatt says:

      I found out about Triberr though the FF&P RWA loop. One of the members offered to invite people so I e-mailed her. I would ask Janna to include you in her tribe.

  3. PJ Sharon says:

    I joined some time ago and couldn’t figure out how to use it, so let it go. I’m more inclined to shift over to adding to my pinterest boards than jump into triberr at this point, since my brain is about to explode from social media overload, LOL. Thanks for the tips!

    • Casey Wyatt says:

      Ah Pininterst. I have seriously been resisting joining because I can tell I would go nuts and not get any writing done! You’ll have to let us know how you like it PJ.

  4. Casey, once again I have to comment, you’re excellent at social media. I can’t even figure out what to TWEET. :) More power to you, Casey!

    • Casey Wyatt says:

      Thanks Ann! I don’t think I’m that great (at least not according to my Klout score!). If you use Facebook a lot, then connect your FB page to twitter and then it will tweet for you – see, then you won’t have to think of what to say!

  5. jannashay says:

    Hi Casey – as you know we are in a couple of tribes together. I think triberr is a great social media group. I have a personal reach of 2052 but every time I blog it goes out to over 206,000 tweeters. I have a tribe I lead that I sent an email out to all SMP authors. The invitation still stands. If anyone wants to join the tribe, let me know. janna@jannashay.com
    Great post. Thank you for posting about something that will help others with their social media.

Leave a Reply

