In the Flow

I just returned from a week in Lily Dale, New York. I go there almost every year to teach metaphysical workshops and to renew my spiritual connection to the unseen realms. If you’re at all interested in the esoteric, I highly recommend a trip. Lily Dale is the largest Spiritualist camp in the United States, and it’s a wonderful place to rest, rejuvenate, and renew yourself, not to mention the possibility of bumping into a ghost here or there.

As a metaphysical teacher, I tell my students that they must get into the flow of Spirit energy, and this can be accessed on the right side of the brain. Writers are also familiar with this side of the brain because it is here that we imagine. Honestly, creative writing and mediumship really aren’t all that different. A medium must put aside her conscious mind in order to tune into the vibrations of other beings in order to communicate with them. A writer must shift into another perspective, another world, and allow her characters to speak in their own voices and tell their own stories. Both of these processes involve a change in consciousness and a willingness to allow information to flow. Problems in both spirit communication and writing arise when the person doing the work shifts back into the conscious mind and allows critical thinking to take over. This is the left side of the brain, the analytical and judging side, where our ego resides. It is this side of our brain that can damage us the most as intuitive people and as creative ones.

As writers, we need to stay out of the left brain, at least in the early stages of the writing process. We need to give ourselves room to create, and sometimes this means writing a whole bunch of junk that eventually gets thrown away. The right brain needs space, time, and a relaxed atmosphere in which to function. I know I sometimes get frustrated with this stage of the writing process. I often need to remind myself that it’s OK to write for the sake of writing, and it’s OK to never use some of the stuff that comes from a regular writing practice. Everything we produce as writers isn’t going to be a golden nugget. But we need to give ourselves permission to freely create and to exercise the unrestrained and unfettered right brain. Our left brain will get its chance to shine during the editing process.

I am currently trying to stay in the flow of the right brain. This means that I’m writing bits and pieces of things, finding new voices, excavating and searching for the next great story to tell. I have lots of ideas, but I haven’t settled yet on one that burns for attention. This is part of the writing process for me, the part that is exciting and exasperating all at the same time. It is the part that forces me to focus solely on creating and allowing, not forcing, not sculpting, not chopping, and certainly not worrying about deadlines or what others may think. It’s not an easy part of the process–I am too goal-oriented for it to be. But it is necessary to allow the creativity to take a front seat. After all these years of writing, I know something will eventually come, and it will be worth pursuing.

We have a song we sing in the Spiritualist church. It’s called¬†Flow, Spirit, Flow.¬†It talks about allowing Spirit to fill you up until you are able to pour it forth for others. Writing is like this. Allow the words to fill you; pour them out on paper (or the computer screen) and don’t worry if they make sense, if they are “right” or “perfect.” They are what they need to be at this moment. Be true to the writing. Be OK with your process. Be in your right brain. Be in the flow.

I send you all peace, love, and blessings!

About revrosevan

Rose Vanden Eynden has always believed in magic, which probably explains how she is able to be a writer as well as a wife, mother, medium, massage therapist, minister, and instructor. She resides in a suburb of Cincinnati, Ohio with her husband, twin teenaged sons, and a dachshund named after Rudyard Kipling. In her spare (!) time, she enjoys performing in live theatre, watching films, reading, and walking in the woods. An avid believer in a balanced life, she meditates and eats chocolate daily.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Perserverance, Ramblings From Rose!, Time Management, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to In the Flow

  1. Lovely post, Rose. Glad you are home safe.

  2. revrosevan says:

    Thanks so much, Susan! It’s always nice to go, but it’s nice to come home, too. :-)

  3. Loved your post, Rose. Very uplifting and soothing at the same time.

  4. jannashay says:

    Wonderful post. It was very positive and allowed my right brain to open and hopefully for my creativity to flow.
    Your week at Lily Dale sounds peaceful like going to a retreat where you connect with your inner being. So glad you were able to go, but happy that you’re back.

    • revrosevan says:

      Thanks so much, Janna. I’m glad the post made sense to you. I wish you many creative flow moments!! :-)

  5. Hi, Rose. Your workshop was great, as usual. I’m trying more to honor the little ideas that come drifting in to my right brain, and making sure I record them. As they persist, I give them some more time, hopefully to nurture them into an actual story. I can’t get away from outlining, but I’m now trying to let inspiration lead the process instead of browbeating it into a story structure. Flow is easier. Thanks!

    • revrosevan says:

      Thanks for your response, Lee! I love hearing how other folks go about their writing processes. I like to think flow works for me, except when I’m on a deadline. :-) I was so happy to see you at my class in Lily Dale, and so glad that you found it valuable. Thank you for sharing your energy there and here on the blog! :-)

Leave a Reply

