Writing: An Olympic Effort

images olympic

As I watch the 2012 Summer Olympics in London, I am moved, motivated, and amazed at the effort each Olympian makes. Hours of time, days of effort, weeks of willpower, months of nothing but their sport, years of yearning—that’s what it takes to get there. And many give all they’ve got and don’t get there. They stay home and dream. They remain in their little worlds and say, “I’ll keep trying. Maybe next time…”
I can’t help but think of our efforts as writers.
We work every single day, toil endless hours, give all we’ve got to whittle out of our lives time to write.
A few of us will mine gold. We’ll sell enough books to make a modest living. Some of us will get a publishing contract, and sell enough books to send us back to write another. More of us will keep writing in the hopes that next time, or the time after that, or the tenth time we’ll write a book that someone, anyone will read and enjoy.
It’s a rare and wonderful thing to want to write. It’s a precious thing to honor our desire to create. It’s enough to find that a publisher or our critique partners or our family say, “You’ve got potential,” or better yet, “I loved your story.”
So as we watch the Olympics, take heart, writers.
Our time spent crafting, drafting, and wishing may never net gold, but we’re in the hunt. We’re racing toward our goals. And no matter if you publish, sell, or succeed, we’re giving it our all.
Who can fault us for trying when so many others say, “What if?”

About Ann Montclair

I'm Ann Montclair, and I write historical and contemporary romantic fiction. In any age, love triumphs.
This entry was posted in Another Word From Ann... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing: An Olympic Effort

  1. jannashay says:

    Great post. Very eloquently said. You always have a positive and terrific outlook on life. I admire that so much.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • I try, Janna. I feel pretty blessed to make this journey. Writing is its own reward, isn’t it?

      I just wish i had more time for laying about and doing nothing! Of course, the minute I relax, my mind churns, and I think, “Oh, that’s a good idea for a story…” :)

  2. B.J. Scott says:

    great post as always. Thanks for sharing.

  3. lulu says:

    Not everyone is lucky enough to be rewarded for their effort, but I give lots of credit to anyone who commits to the journey.

    • I agree. Commitment to writing is key to success, and success is defined differently by each one of us. For me, writing a story I love is golden. I know if I love it, someone else will, too.

Leave a Reply

