Age of Entitlement

You’re at a restaurant enjoying your meal when, from the neighboring table, a blood-curdling scream erupts. Stares try to shoot down the food-throwing, drink-pouring toddler. The oblivious parents continue eating and conversing, doing nothing to stem the frain (that’s food+rain). Why? They are paying customers and they’re entitled to take their children anywhere they want and let them act any way they want. Right?
Another example: I’m driving and I want to change lanes, there’s plenty of room so I turn on my signal. But the car behind speeds up and honks at me when I slide over. He’s ‘entitled,’ right? He was in that lane first. He owns the road.
We live in a world that holds the principal of a school accountable for their student’s assessment test scores. How will students ever learn to accept responsibility for their own grades, their own actions, their own jobs, their own life? Teachers and professors drop lowest scores so students won’t fail. Some schools now have rules that keep a student from scoring below a 50 on homework, even when it’s not turned in! They’re entitled to pass.
Kids today grow up not knowing how to deal with defeat because we don’t let them fail. They’re entitled to win. Besides winning graciously, shouldn’t we teach them how to deal with, and bounce back from, defeat? Shield them from hurt, shield them from loss, shield them from failure, shield them from making their own mistakes.
What is it about some people today that makes them think they can do whatever, whenever? They don’t want to take responsibility for their actions. They want everything free or at a price that wouldn’t even cover the materials to make it. Why? Because they think they’re entitled to it.


Me, me, me. It’s ALL about me. Isn’t it? What can you do for me? What can I get for free? Free rides, free tickets, free lunch… Well, folks, there’s no such thing as a free lunch. This has cost us a whole generation of polite.

Do you have some interesting rants? Sit a spell. Tell me all about it.

About Raven Raye

I am a newly divorced Author/Radiation Therapist with two kids. I volunteer at a local cat shelter and have 3 of my own; one of which is a special needs. I live in the greater Houston area, but one day I'm going to move where they have more than one (summer) season.
This entry was posted in Char's Thoughts, Raven's Prose! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Age of Entitlement

  1. jannashay says:

    Children need to learn responsibility. If we shield our children from everything unpleasant, they will never learn to deal with the bumps that life throws their way.
    Great post.

  2. When I was a kid (way back in the day) you didn’t make the team if you were not good enough. If you didn’t know the subject matter, you failed the test. If you failed enough tests, you stayed back. These kids today who are not taught to be responsible for their actions, to deal with rejection and failure had better not think about a writing career!

Leave a Reply

