Don’t Cry For Me…

Argentina…

I’m not sure why this is the first thing that popped into my mind when I sat down to write this blog post. Maybe it’s the exhaustion that I feel, even though it’s only 4:00 pm. Maybe it’s the scattered, flustered thoughts that have invaded my mind. But I have work to do – a blog post to write and a new story to research.

What has led my mind to be in this state of scrambled eggs and how can I get out of it?

Well, for starters, I was up at 5:00 on a Saturday morning to get ready to take my middle child to a soccer tournament in the next state over. I should mention here my husband is out-of-town, we don’t have family help/a nanny, and I have two other children who had to go with me to said soccer tournament. We left our house at 6:20 am, stayed through two games, two hours apart. When I got back home, I had very hungry, very tired kids on my hands. And my mind, well, I might as well have left it at the game because it certainly didn’t make it back in one piece.

But I have this blog post to write. And then a story to work on. What can I do? What did I do? Well, what any of us would do. I had something to eat, a couple of minutes with my eyes closed, and a dose of caffeine. Then I sat down. And what did I write about? Nothing. Absolutely nothing came to my mind for this blog. If I tried to dive into the research for my new manuscript, I wouldn’t get anywhere with that either.

So that’s when I decided to dedicate this post to how incredibly difficult it can be to find the time and the mental fortitude to write in the midst of our busy lives. I’m sure many of you can sympathize.

And I have to tell ya, now that I’ve written this post, forced my mind to focus into words that hopefully make sense, my mind is working a little bit better. But I’m not going to push it. I’m not going to work on that new manuscript. I just don’t have it in me. And if I tried, I’d make mistakes or simply just waste my time.

Therefore, fellow friends and writers, cheers, and happy writing. Or if you are of scattered mind like me, happy procrastinating. Sometimes it just has to be done (the procrastinating, that is.)

Tracy

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write. Anything and everything. Across genres and back again.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Friends, Inspiration, Motivation, Romance, Time for Tracy!, Time Management, Writing, Writing career and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Cry For Me…

  1. jannashay says:

    It happens to all of us at one time or another. The best thing you can do is grab a glass of wine or whatever, kick your feet up in your favorite chair, and watch your favorite movie. Eventually, everything will fall back into place.
    Have a great labor day weekend.

  2. Tracy, I don’t have three children and a husband and there are times when I can’t harness one coherent sentence to the next. I agree with Janna – get a nice glass of wine, sit in your favorite chair, put your feet up and watch a great movie. Give yourself a some time to catch your breath. Even a wood cutter has to stop to sharpen his ax every once in a while. Enjoy the weekend and as Miss Scarlet would say, think about it tomorrow.

  3. Susan C. Muller says:

    Relax. we all have days that that.

  4. Scattered & overwhemed, but still you write. ;-) No wonder they call us crazy writers. Hugs!

  5. Jamie Brazil says:

    Sometimes you just have to roll with it.

  6. I totally get it. With the job and piano and soccer (where I coach, albeit badly), and swimming lessons, my plate is full, too.

    And then I stare at my blinking cursor and I think: why won’t the words come?

    But hey, with wine and chocolate and a little patience, the words come back. Though not always in the story I want them to. :)

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

