ESCAPE INTO A BOOK

by Karen E. Rigley

There were times in my life I’m not sure I could have endured if not for reading. Reading allowed me to momentarily escape reality. I hope to give that same gift to my readers.

When darkness deepens until you wonder if dawn will truly arrive, reading becomes a beacon to light the way to a better place – one that exists in your imagination. Sometimes the only way to hang on until tomorrow is to lose yourself in a book.

Whether recovering from loss, rebuilding or healing, whether midnight finds your pillow damp with tears, whether you sit beside the bed of loved one or wait at the hospital, or perhaps wave to a departing plane and wonder if it’s a final goodbye, there are times we seek another place, another time, another life, far from the tethers of our real world.

Reading can offer a thread to cling to when we are lost or wounded or frightened. If you find yourself totally alone or find yourself surrounded by chaos, we often look to a book.

Whether a reader picks up my novels for entertainment or escape, I want to immerse them into my story – to make them smile, dream, cry or laugh. Hopefully, now and again to steal their breath away and fill them with wonder.

TELL ME A STORY

Fly me away on the wings of dreams
Weave me sounds of laughter or screams

Scorch me with fire of dragon breath
Haunt me with tales of impending death

Introduce me to people I’ll never meet
Transport me to a distant or imaginary street

Thrill me with legends of brave young souls
Frighten me by evil spells, witches and ghouls

Entice me with magic of a lover’s kiss
Excite me with blaze from a laser gun miss

Enchant me with myths of lost jewels, genies and gold
Challenge me by ancient mysteries; puzzles of old

Tease me with shadows flickering in candleglow
Intoxicate me with joy, passion or woe

Whirl me toward heaven in a tornado high
Blow me like stardust across violet sky

Whisk me away to worlds, future or past
‘til my eyelids drift closed and I sleep at last.

Karen Elizabeth Rigley

http://shimmerfall.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Here's Karen! and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ESCAPE INTO A BOOK

  1. What a lovely post. Thanks for sharing, Karen.

  2. Lynda Hansen Hartson says:

    Wow, you have explained exactly how I feel when reading your books and the very reason I read them. Your writings do take me away to a different place, away from any daily trials that I might be trying to get a grip on! I love your posts as much as your books! Thank you for sharing such a gifted talent with people like me who need to be “taken away” once in a while and enjoy the simplicity but complicated experiences through the mind of a great author as yourself! Lynda

  3. jannashay says:

    Great post, Karen. Reading is one of my favorite pastimes. I’ve loved all the wonderful places and times that I’ve visited in books.

    Loved the eloquent poem. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Bonnie K. Winn says:

    Oh, Karen, this is amazing. I have goosebumps. And,on a day when people are deep in reflection, you’ve brought all those emotions to a beautiful blog and incredible poem. I feel as though I’ve been given a gift. Thank you. I will keep it nestled close.

  5. Thanks, Bonnie. I value your words so much.

  6. Jamie Brazil says:

    Well said. I really enjoyed your post!

  7. Jim Clark says:

    Karen, I’m new to your work but am enjoying it very much. Your poem is especially poingant to me because I find so much comfort and solace in books. Makes me feel connected to the whole human experience. Your talent is a blessing to all who read your stories.

    Jim Clark

Leave a Reply

