Bittersweet Kickoff!

The beginning of anything is never easy: writing that first line, starting your diet, a first date, your first child, starting your life over—reinventing yourself.

Reinventing yourself? Yes, that’s what I said. I find myself in that position. Some days I’m wildly deliriously happy, I feel free of encumbrances. Where once I was publicly berated for spending $12, I can now buy what I want without having to justify my purchase. Other days I curl up in bed and cry myself to sleep.

The end of anything is never easy: the end of your favorite novel, the end of a relationship. The ‘D’ word (divorce) has taken over my life as it has so many others.  It’s never an easy choice, sometimes an obvious one, but not easy. I did mine in stages, emotionally and physically.

So with the publication of my debut novel on, of all days, my birthday, I’m taking the opportunity to relinquish my old trappings and start new. Exercising, eating right… I even cut off my three-foot-long tresses. I feel like the legendary phoenix rising from the ashes. I did get burned and I’m nursing more than a few wounds, but now I will soar.

This is the kickoff of a new and better me.

Do you have Tales of the ‘D’ you’d like to share? Come bend my ear.

About Raven Raye

I am a newly divorced Author/Radiation Therapist with two kids. I volunteer at a local cat shelter and have 3 of my own; one of which is a special needs. I live in the greater Houston area, but one day I'm going to move where they have more than one (summer) season.
This entry was posted in Raven's Prose!. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bittersweet Kickoff!

  1. Raven, it takes courage to soar–fly high & free.

  2. You are a strong woman. Raven, and you will definately soar. The trick is to find joy in the little things. A bottle of wine and a chick flick, eating dinner at eight-thirty because that’s when you got hungry, not having to watch football, writing (or reading) for hours with no interuptions. My “D” wasn’t divorce, but the more permanent kind. After nine months, I still cry, but not often. I would consider myself a happy person with a full life. You are well on your way with many friends sending you hugs and encouragement.

  3. Best of luck with all your new endeavors. May life bring you all the love and joy you require,

  4. Erin says:

    No story, but I admire your strength. My mother stayed in an unhappy marriage for 35 years, and only now has had the courage to call it quits. Good luck to you! Your hair looks beautiful, by the way!

  5. ravenraye says:

    Thanks, Erin. I know how your mom feels. It’s taken many years for me to work up the guts to say ‘Enough.’ Thanks for stopping by.

  6. jannashay says:

    Keep your chin up, Raven. Better days are definitely ahead. I divorced my first husband and that was the smartest thing I ever did. It took me six years to come to that decision, because like you I had to do it in stages.
    I know it’s hard right now, but you’ll soon feel your soul soaring with your outer new image. Just to let you know…..love is terrific the second time around. If you ever need someone to talk to, don’t hesitate to contact me.

  7. Sending you a cyber hug and a boatload of support. Consider the past, “research” for novels where you can seek revenge, or build your best fantasy, and not have to worry about the cops knocking at your door.

  8. Good for you Raven! It’s tough now but every day is a day further away from the past. You know the old cliche time heals all wounds but it is a very true saying. Keep your chin up (especially now with your great new hairstyle!!) and just be proud of your strength and self control! Because had I been berated in public over $12 I would not have had any control whatsoever. So be proud that you had such strength and be proud of what you are now going to accomplish :)

  9. ravenraye says:

    Thanks, Angela. I wouldn’t say I had much control that night. But that was the straw, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

