Greetings from Bouchercon 2012

Today Kendra James and I are attending the Mystery Writers Convention in rainy Cleveland, Ohio.

So far, we’ve met and mingled with Robin Cook, Linwood Barclay, Jordan Danes, and Michael Connelly.  In a few hours, I’ll meet Lee Child and ask him to sign my copy of A WANTED MAN. Squeeeeee.

Tomorrow Elizabeth George and Mary Higgins Clark are on the schedule.

Writing conferences provide inspiration, motivation, and information. I’ve already learned loads about creating important settings, conducting accurate research, and incorporating suspense and thrills into any genre of fiction. I plan to attend presentations on craft and marketing, too–all skills writers must hone to turn their books into best sellers.

If you ever get a chance to attend writing conferences, big or small, local or international, do it.  Networking, learning, and exploring are their own rewards, and you never know who might ride the elevator with you. (Heather Graham!)

I’m thinking about all of my Soul Mate sisters and wishing you were here.

xo,

–Ann Montclair

About Ann Montclair

I'm Ann Montclair, and I write historical and contemporary romantic fiction. In any age, love triumphs.
This entry was posted in Another Word From Ann... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Greetings from Bouchercon 2012

  1. jannashay says:

    Sounds like you’re having a blast besides benefiting from the invaluable information. Hope the remainder of the convention is just as much fun.
    Thanks so much for sharing,

  2. B.J. Scott says:

    Have a great time and absorb all you can ladies!!!!!!!! Above all ENJOY!
    Can’t wait to hear all about it when you get back.

  3. bevirwin says:

    Kendra here. Ann and I are having a fabulous time. There are over 1400 hundred people here. Mystery writers, fans, and there are books everywhere. What more could a person want?
    Fabulous time meeting new friends and reconnecting with old ones. And, yes Ann was overjoyed to meet the wonderful Lee Child. I was excited to let him know I am finally able to use the blurb he gave me for my book. And to meet, Robin Cook, I think that has been my high point. I did say we are having a fabulous time didn’t I, and still more to come.
    Kendra James / Bev Irwin

Leave a Reply

