Social Media and All That…

I’ve found myself overwhelmed with all the social media outlets available in getting my novels exposed to the right groups of readers. I’ve posted about this before, but I’m saying it again. You have to pick the avenues that work best for you and don’t over extend yourself in what you can commit to. In my humble opinion, if you can’t visit and tend to a certain outlet at least 3 times a month, then don’t use that particular stream. I do have a full-time – with overtime – job that consumes a lot of my time. Add my family and three dogs, I’m a busy person. And then there’s my passion – writing. I love creating stories for others to enjoy, but writing takes time as well, as does promoting once you’ve been published. I love Goodreads, twitter and facebook, then add triberr, linkedin, pinterest and a slew of others? We can’t forget our own blogs that need tending to, also. Oh my, I don’t know where to begin, or end. I’ve stuck to the basics to make sure I can visit them often, but am I selling myself short not dabbling in the latest and greatest? Feel free to share what works best and what readers prefer in how they’re exposed to new novels and authors, happy writing :)

About mandicasey

I'm a paranormal romance author. My newest release, Bizarre Life of Sydney Sedrick, is coming soon with Soul Mate Publishing.
This entry was posted in Char's Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Social Media and All That…

  1. I find social media daunting. Blogging takes tons of time, and while I love visiting, learning, and commenting, maintaining my own is hard, time intensive work. I’m doing a blog hop now, and there are over 200 links–over 200 romance writers peddling their wares. And you know there’s many more times that many. Wow! I’ve no idea what works so far as sales, but what works for me is enjoying the interaction and getting to know people like you, Mandi. :)

    • mandicasey says:

      Thanks so much Ann :) I do find keeping my own blog up to date the most tedious and time consuming but I love all the discussions and learing, especially meeting authors too :)

  2. B.J. Scott says:

    Picking the right social media is a crap shoot for sure. And we really are not sure what works and what doesn’t. But if we want to sell our books it is a necessary evil and the quest for the right site must go on.

    I agree with Ann. The upside to all of this is the wonderful people I have met since getting published.

  3. Jamie Brazil says:

    Excellent advice. I’ve been overwhelmed myself. Recently I dialled back to basics and am happier and more productive. Though miss the interaction! I too have met wonderful people in the process of getting published. SMP sisters are the best!

    • mandicasey says:

      Thanks Jamie, because of SMP I’ve found authors Ill read and follow throughout their writing adventures because I love their writing, which is a huge bonus. I think dialing back is good and can allow time to focus and be more productive :)

  4. lulu says:

    It seems nobody can function without social media these days, but I’m with you when it comes to evaluating its effectiveness. I guess trial and error is the best way to find out.

  5. I agree. All the social media avenues can make a person dizzy. I’m on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Linkedin, Google Plus, Triberr and Pinterest; not to mention maintaining author pages on Facebook, Goodreads, and Amazon. It’s like having a full time job. I made a book trailer, which although easy I cannot say if it generated any sales. I did see a very slight increase in sales after a personal appearance at Barnes & Noble. I am now thinking that may be the way to go. Get my face out there and talk to people. I also placed an Ad on Goodreads, and although I have had a good number of views, it’s no where near what I expected and I can’t say it has generated any sales. After seeing some sales increase with the personal appearance, I’m going to try to get a few more of those types of gigs. It’s a tough call and climbing the ladder to a successful writing career is difficult, but sisters, at least we are on the ladder.

    • mandicasey says:

      Gerri, I couldn’t agree with you more, we’ve made it on the ladder and that’s huge :) I placed a facebook ad but must have set the ad settings wrong so I plan on trying again soon. I do like the goodreads ad because you can advertise multiple books at once using the same account.

  6. jannashay says:

    Social media seems to be the bane of all authors. I’m involved in many avenues of social media and have found that twitter seems to bring me the most exposure. Twitter has brought followers to my blog site, goodreads and facebook. I’m not sure of the long-term effect on promotion, but I have met a lot of very nice people in the process.

    • mandicasey says:

      Hi Janna, I do like twitter also. Not sure if any sales are generated from my tweets but it’s fun to read what’s new and even get tips from other authors and publishers.

  7. My mind spins thinking about all the choices and I too get overwhelmed quickly. There are no easy answers, and maybe that is a good thing. Choices.

    • mandicasey says:

      Hi Diane, you’re right there are a lot of choices, almost too many in my book :) I’ve read a lot of success promo stories about authors using facebook ads, I did try one but I must have set it up wrong :) if anyone has tips about how to correctly generate a facebook ad I’d be happy to hear about them :)

  8. I find social media cutting into more and more of my productive writing time. I know it can be a useful took for promotion and connecting with others, but I hear conflicting results. Some swear by Twitter, blogging, Facebook, Good Reads and so on, while others say none of those mediums have been terribly beneficial for them.

Leave a Reply

