RenFest and the writer

Renaissance fun yesterday at the Texas Renaissance Festival; the biggest themed attraction in the nation. My daughter and I stayed right up until the fireworks. A first for me. Walking was only slightly painful (understatement) after my foot surgery.

After growing up in England, immersed in historical culture, the RenFest almost feels like going home. Well, if you can call meandering in corsets and hoop skirts home. As a writer, I’m absorbing the drama, costumes, and weird get-ups to insert into some future novel.

With so much to see I’m on sensory overload and paranormal heaven. The mix of past and present mesh so well in the musical choices here. One of my favorite bands, and I swear it’s not an endorsement, is Tartanic.

Banner says Wine and Alchemy but it’s really Tartanic

They have so much fun when they play it makes you want to dance while they’re pounding rhythmic drumbeats. They involve the crowd and the girls sign the words while they dance. Food and drink! The sky’s the limit. Everything from alligator on a stick, bread bowls, mead, chocolate covered cheesecake…

Shops with books on Tarot and pirate swords… And if that’s not enough, you get to dress up! Period costumes abound along with rather bizarre ‘thingymawidgets.’ Here, I can be Raven. Here, I can be me.

With so much diversity, novel ideas blossom in my head on the long drive home.

About Raven Raye

I am a newly divorced Author/Radiation Therapist with two kids. I volunteer at a local cat shelter and have 3 of my own; one of which is a special needs. I live in the greater Houston area, but one day I'm going to move where they have more than one (summer) season.
This entry was posted in Raven's Prose! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to RenFest and the writer

  1. Sounds like a wonderful time. And you got to share it with your daughter.

  2. revrosevan says:

    We are kindred spirits, my dear! I was sorely disappointed that I didn’t get to go to the Ohio Ren Fest this year, where I feel so at home (I even used to work there as a Tarot reader). I’m glad you got to share it with your daughter. And I hope your foot continues to heal well!

  3. I”ve always wanted to get there. This year. Looks fabulous.

  4. Bethany says:

    We’re hoping to go later in the Season. I think it’s a fun thing to do. I remember going when we visited family in Syracuse, NY…that was a lot of fun. Glad you had a great time :-)

  5. lulu says:

    I haven’t been to the Renaissance Festival in years. Maybe it’s time to go again because it is fun.

  6. jdfaver says:

    I haven’t missed a year yet. When my kids were younger, we used to drive from Corpus. Lots to feed the Muse. And lots to feed the tummy too. :-)

  7. jannashay says:

    I love the Renaissance Festival and try to make it each year when it comes to my area. It looks like you had a blast with your daughter. So happy you could enjoy the festival without too much discomfort to your foot.
    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

