“A Sense of Wonder” by Dawn Ireland

I hope you dance

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder

You get your fill to eat, but always keep that hunger

May you never take one single breath for granted

God forbid love ever leave you empty-handed

Music and Lyrics by Mark D. Sanders and Tia Sillers

Our pastor asked a question of the children during their sermon last week. “Can you tell me about one of your best days?” A little boy of about 8 looked over at his 4 year old sister, rolled his eyes and said “She always says ‘This is the best day ever.’”

Ahhh, the sense of wonder we feel as children. Where does it go? Does it disappear with the monsters under our bed? Does it disappear with our imaginary friends? Or, does it disappear when we stop believing in things we can’t see and get so caught up in the world we forget to notice the magic in everything around us?

I write because it lets me once again explore the world of childhood. If you’re a writer, it’s perfectly legitimate for you to spend hours in imaginary worlds with imaginary people. The paranormal folks get to meet some of the scariest or cutest creatures that don’t exist. (One of my favorite writers, Jayne Castle has created pets/companions she calls dust bunnies on one of her worlds- Harmony. I know it’s impossible, but I’d still love to meet one someday. For those of you who have never had the pleasure of reading about these creatures, here’s a description taken from a blog that Jayne did on the subject of dust bunnies.

Where was I? Right. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the species, here’s a quick description of a dust bunny: A scruffy ball of gray fluff with six paws and two sets of eyes, adorable baby-blue eyes for daylight use and a second set of amber-colored eyes for hunting. Dust bunnies are playful and cute when they’re in a good mood. They are very fond of bright, shiny objects and assorted snacks. If they are attacked or feel compelled to protect their human companions, however, they are dangerous. As the saying goes, by the time you see the teeth, it’s too late.

Here’s the link if you want to read more of the blog: http://novelreaction.com/2011/04/guest-post-by-jayne-ann-krentz-beware-the-dust-bunnies/

The best stories let us be kids again. I think that’s why we’ve had a resurgence of Fairy Tales on our TV shows lately. (Grim, Once Upon A Time, tonight’s episode on Castle) As women, if we can’t meet Prince Charming, then we at least want to read about the girl who did. (Of course, as we’re reading, we BECOME her, so in a sense, we get the guy.)

And when you finish a book where obstacles have been overcome, and true love has triumphed, don’t you feel better about the world? You can start the day saying “This is the best day ever.” Obviously I’m feeling very positive today, so let’s keep it going. I’d love to hear about your best day ever.

About Dawn Ireland

When I'm not writing historical romance, I'm practicing my harp, gardening, singing, acting, wood carving... Okay, you get the idea, I love to create.
This entry was posted in Char's Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to “A Sense of Wonder” by Dawn Ireland

  1. Lia Davis says:

    Those dust bunnies sound so cute. I love being a paranormal writer for all the reasons you listed. Great post!

    • guardian30 says:

      Hi Lia,
      Paranormal books can be so much fun. For example, Christine Feehan’s “Carpathians” can be very “Alpha” and we go along with it because she’s created a world where that is their norm. Ah, the diversity of creating worlds and heros. Aren’t we lucky!

  2. revrosevan says:

    Aw…those dust bunnies sound adorable!!
    As a writer, it’s so amazing to be able to create worlds. What a treasure we have in our imaginations!
    And maybe I’m a Pollyanna, but I’m a big believer in affirming things like, “This is the best day ever!” It creates a positive energy that attracts better stuff to you. I encourage everyone to try it!

    • guardian30 says:

      Hi Rose,
      If you’ve ever read one of Jayne’s Harmony series, the dust bunnies really are cute.
      And I have my own version of “Pollyanna.” I say I’m a “Disney Girl:)”

  3. Mandi Casey says:

    Love the picture and your post. Writers do indeed create wonderful worlds 🙂

  4. Hmm. I’m more like that little girl in church. My dd always growls that I’m too happy, and like too many people, and in general, like everything too much. I’ve had friends complain about that, too. That’s probably why I write romance. I love a happy ending.

  5. Such a great post. What I like most about being a writer is that, now that I’m published, it feels way more legit to spend time with my imaginary friends!

    Whether in the past or the future, whether they’re vampires or succubi or just regular folks, they’re fun to hang out with!

    I think my new motto from now on will be, “This is the best ever!”

  6. Jason Barret says:

    Hi Dawn, I enjoyed your post. You’re such a colorful writer. Keep that sense of wonder in all you write and it will always be a hit!

  7. B.J. Scott says:

    Great post Dawn! Thanks for sharing with us.

  8. Lots of “Best Days Ever” for me. I keep having new ones. The birth of each of my girls, and then the birth of each of my grandkids! I got to be in the rooms for the grands (and obviously had to be for their mommies, being that I was the one delivering them.) The day my guy first said those three little words. The day I got the phone call with the very first offer on my very first book. So many more. It’s good to think about them, too–gets you in the vibe to receive more days like them.
    Great post, Dawn.

    • guardian30 says:

      Hi Maggie,
      You “delivered” your grandchildren? Wow. You’re amazing. Talented writer, family gal and a free spirit. I’m sure you’re going to have a lot more “Best Days Ever!”

  9. jannashay says:

    Great post. My best day ever is every morning when I wake up and greet the day.
    I’m thankful for having another day to enjoy my family and do what I love to do which
    is write.

  10. Very motivating post. My best day ever is always tomorrow. I look forward to each and every day God gives me, and I thank Him for every day I’ve had.

  11. Nona Raines says:

    This is a great post to inspire me. I’ve been feeling rather pessimistic lately, and need to remember the “half-full” way of looking at things. I’d like to be like the little girl you mention, and think every day is the best day ever. I hope my best day is still ahead of me. Thanks for the inspiration, Dawn.

    • guardian30 says:

      Hi Nona,
      The mind’s a really funny thing. If you fill it with things you could accomplish, then you have a chance at doing more than you ever thought possible. I want to hear about your next “Best Day Ever.”

Leave a Reply

