Erin’s in the House! Please Welcome Erin Bluett, Author of A WITCH’S LOVE!

SMP:  Erin, welcome! Tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

Erin:  I love anything romance but I love my romance to have a twist of paranormal adventure. My love of romance doesn’t stop at books-Movie and television series grab my attention as well. This has inspired me to write my own novels and I can’t wait to take you all on the journey that is: A Witch’s Love.

SMP:  Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Erin:  I always loved to write- poems in particular but my interest in writing a novel developed much later.

SMP:  When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

Erin:  Last year, in 2011, after reading a book I said “I could do this,” and my husband replied, “I bet you could.” With that I got hard at work.

SMP:  How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

Erin:  It took me about nine months. I had road blocks throughout the story but nothing that stopped me for long. I found the trick to writers block is to write. Later, I would go back and change some of it but at least it got me over the hump.

SMP:  Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

Erin:  I love music. It really inspires me. I usually have the radio or iTunes filling the house. I find at night I’m the most inspired…I’m not what you call, a morning person.

SMP:  What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

Erin:  I love visiting the Adirondacks, so when I sat down to write, I knew the setting would have to be that very area.

SMP:  Literary Inspiration: throughout your life, what novels have lifted you, made you think, “Someday I want to create something like that….”

Erin:  I can still remember reading a Kresley Cole novel and thinking that very statement. Into the Wilderness by Sarah Donati was also another novel that I felt inspired by: strong heroines and   great adventures are always inspiring to me.

SMP:  Let’s talk about romance. How do you set the mood for your characters, what do you draw from that helps your H/H achieve oneness with each other? And how much conflict do you give them, along the way?

Erin:  I think it’s important that they have as much in common, as they don’t. They can learn from each other as they try to accomplish their goals. I give them as much conflict as I think they can handle. Making it realistic is a must so I try not to go overboard.

SMP:  What shining moment in your journey stands out the most as a real turning point for you as a writer?

Erin:  When I was writing the POV of the hero, I had this thought of, “Wow, he is really tortured,” and I realized: I had created that.

SMP:  Five vital things surround you as you create. What are they? What makes them special to you?

Erin:  A dictionary, thesaurus, music, coffee, and chocolate: I’m actually a horrible speller. That’s why I need the dictionary and thesaurus, the coffee and chocolate keep my imagination going.

SMP:  Writers face many challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

Erin:  I’m not big on the social networking that as a whole has been an adventure. I found the best way to learn is to just do it. I’ve been learning along the way….

SMP:  What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

Erin:  Right now, its when I’m in the zone writing like crazy.

SMP:  What aspects of the writing process do you find most challenging?

Erin:  I think I will find promoting as well as social media to be the most challenging.

SMP:  How do you begin a story? Do you just sit down with an idea in mind and start writing, or are you a person who wouldn’t dream of starting without a detailed outline, character sketches, and pages of research data?

Erin:  I like to have an outline of major events. Also a character description so I don’t fall off course. So far I like the system, I can keep to a schedule but also write by the seat of my pants to one major event to another.

SMP:  Who or what sparks the ideas for your stories?

Erin:  The media. I have an interest in paranormal and romances so when I watch T.V., movies, read magazines or books, I find inspiration for ideas swimming in my head.

SMP:  Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

Erin:  I’m working on the second novel in the Immortal Destiny series. The sister of Ava Worthington- Ella is going to have her own story: her own destiny she is supposed to accomplish. I’m very excited about the whole series, giving each sister their own happy ending-hopefully.

SMP:  We asked Erin for some random details about herself, and she said:

Erin:  I’m a huge Adele fan: Love her music. I love animals but in particular cats. I’m also a ginger, an only child, and love the color purple.

A Witch’s Love is scheduled for release in late Spring, 2012:

One dangerous lycan. A beautiful young witch.

Forced together… to discover their immortal destinies.

Desperate for his kiss…

Ava Worthington love’s her life in a small town in the Adirondacks. She has a decent job and sisters she couldn’t live without.  She thought she had it all, until she has a chance encounter with the handsome Lucas Grant.  Ava knew she had fallen hard for this mysterious stranger but when he reveals his true identity she vows never to see him again.

Longing for her touch…

Worldly and fiercely independent, Lucas Grant prides himself on not needing anyone, not even his lycan clan until he meets his life mate.  He is surprised to find his predestined mate that he never wanted, is a witch with a haunted past. This Ava is a beauty like no other and begins to tempt him in ways he never imagined, making it hard for him to walk away. Yet when dark forces attack her, the lycan finds himself furiously protecting her.

A dark desire neither of them can deny…

Afraid of Lucas’ true identity, attacked by dark forces she doesn’t understand and in danger of losing her sisters, she’s forced to discover her magical destiny and work with Lucas. But is she trading one danger for another? Will she find her sisters but lose her heart?

SMP:  Erin, thanks so much for visiting with us today!  Keep us posted on A WITCH’S LOVE release!

Look for Erin’s debut paranormal romance, A WITCH’S LOVE, at Soul Mate Publishing, Amazon and Barnes & Noble!

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in Paranormal Romance, Pen and Prose From Erin!, Spring Blog-a-Thon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Erin’s in the House! Please Welcome Erin Bluett, Author of A WITCH’S LOVE!

  1. Great interview, Erin! Best of luck with all your writing endeavors, and I look forward to seeing A WITCH’S LOVE released and then eagerly snapped up by readers eveywhere! 🙂

  2. Great to hear more about you, Erin! Best of luck with all your projects!

  3. Jamie Brazil says:

    Erin, it’s good to be in “the zone” when it comes to social media, too. I’m often a challenged speller as well — bring on the coffee! Somehow caffiene makes everything better.
    Good luck with your new novel!

  4. mandicasey says:

    Great interview Erin! Congrats and best wishes to all your writing adventures 🙂

  5. Susan Muller says:

    Good job, Erin. Don’t you love it when you find the “zone?”

  6. Erin Bluett says:

    Thank you to everyone for being so welcoming. It wonderful to know other authors that truely understand the ups and downs of writing.

  7. ravenraye says:

    Wonderful interview, Erin. Your novel sounds great- can’t wait to read it. My kids got me into social media many years ago so it doesn’t scare me too much anymore. I still talk to some of their friends online even though they’ve all graduated. I’m more afraid of the marketing aspect.

    Raven

  8. Great interview Erin. I too am social-media challenged, but I’m learning… Best of luck with your books.

  9. Erin Bluett says:

    Hopefully marketing and social media is more or less: Practice makes perfect! 🙂 I love the zone…sometimes it’s hard to find but the chocolate and coffee help LOL.

  10. The Adirondacks are awesome, aren’t they? So cool that you placed your story there! Did you set it in a real place or make up a typical Adirondack town and lake. Gotta have a lake.

  11. Erin Bluett says:

    I totally agree: gotta have a lake 🙂

  12. shelly vanderwerken says:

    Can’t wait to read your debut novel! Congratulations! 🙂

  13. Great interview, Erin! A Witch’s Love sounds spellbinding.
    Hugs, Karen

  14. Cynthia Gail says:

    Chocolate can cure anything – keep it coming ! Great interview & best of luck. Can’t wait to read your book.

  15. Erin Bluett says:

    I can’t wait to share A Witch’s Love!

  16. darcyflynn says:

    Great interview, Erin! Social Media…ugh! 🙂 …but I’m hanging in there! My husband told me, ‘you could do it, too’. Here’s to sweet, supportive husbands!

  17. Nona Raines says:

    Wonderful interview, Erin. How great that your husband encouraged your dream!

  18. Erin Bluett says:

    Here’s to them! 😉

  19. guardian30 says:

    Hi Erin,
    Great interview. I love the Adirondacks as well. It’s a great setting! I’m sure your books will be a great success.
    Have a Magical Evening!!!!!!
    Dawn

  20. Erin Bluett says:

    Thanks, I have my fingers crossed!:)

  21. Lil says:

    Great interview Erin. You will surely do very well with your book. Good Luck!

  22. jannashay says:

    Great interview. I love anything romance also and can hardly wait to read A Witch’s Love.
    Face social media head on and you’ll do fine. Thank for sharing.

Leave a Reply

