Comfort Novels

We all go through rough times and roller-coaster emotions at some point in our lives. Sometimes at several points. How do we cope? Besides the obvious, anti-depressants or counseling or the dreaded ‘self-medicating.’

I have comfort novels. Christine Feehan’s Carpathian series. Not only do I read these when I’m happy, I pick one up when I feel blue. I have them on Kindle and paperback. I even have a few in hardback. I’ve read them over and over. Why? What is it about this series that resonates with me?

I like the Hero/Heroine interaction. I like the way he ends up making her feel she’s the only one in the world for him. I like that they NEED to make each other happy. There are dozens in this series, but there are a few that are my favorites. Dark Prince, Dark Desire, Dark Melody… You get the idea. They are dark paranormal romances. Wow, would I love a man like that! Oh, yeah, FICTION. lol I almost forgot. But that’s the point, right. To forget. To immerse yourself in the romance, the happily-ever-after, and forget the cold, cruel world for a few hours.

This series will always be a comfort to me. I can only fantasize that something I write will comfort someone else in the same way. What do you reach for for comfort? Do you have ‘comfort novels?’ Let me know so I can check them out.

About Raven Raye

I am a newly divorced Author/Radiation Therapist with two kids. I volunteer at a local cat shelter and have 3 of my own; one of which is a special needs. I live in the greater Houston area, but one day I'm going to move where they have more than one (summer) season.
This entry was posted in Raven's Prose! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Comfort Novels

  1. scmitchell says:

    I hear you. for me it’s Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series, or if I really want to escape i spend a few days on Pern (Anne McCaffrey).

  2. Interesting concept-these comfort novels. Can’t say I’ve ever had anything that fits this concept. Intriguing post.

Leave a comment