Be Kind to Editors and Writers Month

September is Be Kind to Editors and Writers Month. I know — there’s an official month designation for just about anything. But this one’s close to home.

As writers, where would we be without our editors? Aside from the acquisition editor who loved our story enough to want to publish it, editors help us produce books that are clearer, richer, deeper than they would be without them. No matter how talented you may be as a writer, none of us are perfect, and it takes someone removed from the story to spot those issues that keep a good book from being a great book.

Is there one thing that your editor suggested that stands out in your mind as a “light bulb” moment? The moment when you said “wow” that does make the story better? Share those moments today and you’ll be entered in a prize drawing for a $10 Amazon gift card . . . for your editor.

Here’s my moment: My editor suggested I move blocks of backstory narrative to dialogue shared between the hero and heroine as a way of building intimacy and trust between them. Not only did this deepen their relationship, but it kept the reader wanting more, because the details of their painful pasts weren’t revealed until later in the book. That book was Rescuing Lacey, winner of the Colorado Romance Writers Award of Excellence and a Holt Medallion Award of Merit, not to mention a finalist in numerous other contests. My editor deserves the credit for making those awards and finals possible.

I’ll be blogging all this month about how to be kind to the editors and writers in your life, including yourself. Leave a comment, and you could win a $10 Amazon gift card for yourself.

About Rebecca Heflin

I've dreamed of writing romantic fiction since I was fifteen and my older sister sneaked a copy of Kathleen Woodiwiss' Shanna to me and told me to read it. Now I write women's fiction and contemporary romance under the name Rebecca Heflin. In case you're wondering, Rebecca Heflin is an abbreviated version of my great-great grandmother's name: Sarah Anne Rebecca Heflin Apple Smith. Whew! And you wondered why I shortened it. When not passionately pursuing my dream, I am busy with my day-job at a large state university or running the non-profit cancer organization my husband and I founded. I'm a member of Romance Writers of America (RWA), Florida Romance Writers, RWA Contemporary Romance, Savvy Authors, and Florida Writers Association. My mountain-climbing husband and I live at sea level in sunny Florida.
This entry was posted in According to Rebecca and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be Kind to Editors and Writers Month

  1. kathybryson says:

    Cool holiday! I have to give a shout out to Debby who we all know and love. She suggested I could leave off every attribution – all the he said, she said – and I ended up cutting almost 10,000 words. Rather embarrassing actually, but at least now I know where I cross the line from organized to obsessed!

  2. Pingback: Be Kind to Editors and Writers Month | Collette Cameron Author

  3. laday2727 says:

    I’m just a reader, but I’m interested to read what you have to say about being kind to writers. I have zero idea (aside from purchasing the book) what a writer would appreciate from a reader, and I’m SO eager to learn! When I read, I get a much-needed break from reality, and the least I can do is repay the writers who make that possible!!!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by. There are so many ways to show writers some love. If you enjoyed a book, tell all your friends. Writers love that! Thoughtful reviews on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads are also greatly appreciated. If you like a particular writer, connect with them on Facebook or Twitter. Finally, buy their next book. ☺

Leave a comment