Brainstorming

Happy New Year Everyone! Welcome to the middle of January…better known as the dead of winter! Or for lack of a better saying the time all writers should be (and probably are) in front of a computer screen tip tapping away on their latest creation. Why not? It’s the middle of winter here in the northern hemisphere, we should be taking these colder, darker months and get some writing done. Right? Ok, if that’s true then what the h-e-double hockey sticks is wrong with me? Why am I not writing anything down? Why can I not get an idea for a new story under way? Where on earth did my muses go?! Oh that’s right I forgot. I left them in the Caribbean.

Let me explain. See what happened was this past spring/summer and beginning of fall I had tons of story ideas. Did I write any of them down you ask? Oh no no no. Why would I write them down? They were brilliant! There’s no way I would ever forget them! Then in November I went on my first ever cruise through the Caribbean. Yes it was beautiful! Yes it was an amazing amount of fun! Yes it was hot and humid! There was only one issue … I think my muses are still down there!! I think they got off the ship with me on one of the islands and didn’t return! How on earth do you coax your muses back to the cold, dark Canadian winter when they are basking in the glorious sun and heat in the Caribbean? I’m thinking I may be waiting until hurricane season for them to come back because even the lure of chocolate at Christmas did not see their return.

I think I may be on my own for a while so I must ask … How do you brainstorm? How do you come up with ideas? And I am not posing this question to just authors or geared towards writing. When you need a project idea or speech idea or anything how do you brainstorm to get the ideas flowing without the help of your muses?

~ Angela ~

About angelascavone

I am, now, a published author. I write contemporary romantic comedy and love to promote authors.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brainstorming

  1. kathybryson says:

    Hi Angela,
    It’s a familiar problem. I find I get bogged down in odds and ends on the computer and forget what I thought. Then when I get up again and move around, I remember. So my recommendation is go do something- dishes, laundry, whatever. If nothing else, the house gets picked up! Oh and for what it’s worth, it’s in the 50s in the Caribbean! We’re freezing, so your ideas may be headed home sooner that you think! ; )

    • That’s awesome news!! Ok not that I’m happy the Caribbean is cold right now but that they may be headed home…wait that temp is still a whole lot warmer than our current -13. Ok if you see them down there can you send them home please ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be here doing dishes, sweeping and laundry ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the advice. I’m betting my house is going to be the cleanest it’s ever been soon ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you!!

  2. Hi Angela,
    Sit down in front of the tv with a pad of paper and a pen and then have a movie marathon. Netflix is my ideal tool to get the creative ideas flowing. It’s a treasure trove of movies, tv shows and documentaries. I’ll just browse until something interesting catches my eye and then I write whatever ideas come to me while watching it. I don’t even watch the whole thing… Just long enough for an idea to pop into my head and then I move on to the next. It’s just one way of many to help my “muse” shine through. Another is the tried and true story prompts. I hope your muse returns soon!

  3. I do both, the go do mindless chores and the movie view-notes. I am also into coffee-table books, the really big ones full of pictures on a specific topic. I make a point not to stress when the muses wander because writing is the hardest work I’ve ever loved.

    On those days when I know I want to, or have to, write and my mind is blank then I do silly typing exercises or edit something else for 10 to 15 minutes. Then I return to the writing project I want to be working on and I’m usually ready to go.

    • Hi Terri

      Thank you for the advice. I’m goin to try that as well. I currently have a very clean house AND I made some meals for the week and froze them. Looks like busy work is done now it’s movie time and coffee table book time ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’m trying everything to get the creative juices flowing ๐Ÿ™‚
      I will try the editing route too, I do have my other ms to go over again so that may help as well.

      Thanks for all your advice!

  4. Angela, I’m still trying to shake that wonderful trip you had in the Carribean…lol. Not sure if you’re into meditation, but it might help. Try emptying your mind and opening your heart. Close your eyes, focus on your breathing, and relax. You’ll be surprised what might surface!

Leave a Reply

