What’s in a Muse?

In ‘Greek Mythology’, a muse may be any of the nine daughters of Mnemosyne and Zeus. It was said that each daughter represented or presided over a specific art and/or science.

Muse 1

  • Calliope embodied the writing tablet and inspired epic poetry.
  • Clio named history her domain where the words of inspiration were immortalized on the pages of scrolls.
  • Erato lived for the sound of lyric poetry; her instrument of choice was a Cithara, which is an ancient Greek musical instrument found in the Lyre family.
  • Euterpe longed for song and elegiac poetry; her instrument of choice was the Aulos, an ancient Greek musical instrument that is similar to a flute.
  • Melpomene embodied the mask of tragic events and occurrences found in the tragedies of man.
  • Polyhymnia’s love of hymns provided her with a veil and voice to inspire the souls on earth and beyond.
  • Terpsichore longed to spread inspiration through dance through lyre.
  • Thalia felt that the world and universe must smile; therefore, she embodied the comic mask to spread laughter through comedy.
  • Urania felt the world required a globe and compass, so one would never lose his or her way. She felt astronomy was what one needed to find the answers to the questions posed.

Muse 2Many may define a muse as a state of meditation, whereas, others may consider a muse as simply one who is absorbed in his or her own thoughts.  For a writer, a muse is the source of inspiration that drives one forward in his or her writing endeavor. A muse, in short, is the personification of one’s knowledge.  It is the arts as they tie to dance, literature, and music. It is a whisper in the night or a word on the tip of the tongue. It is a gentle caress that generates a ripple of change throughout the world.

???????????????????????????????????? A muse, simply put, is what one makes of it. When I personally think of my muse, I see my children. They make me strive to be a better person that I am. Viewing the world through their eyes allows me a different perspective or spin on life. The wonder on their faces makes my heart beat stronger, and the sing-song tone of their voices inspires me to greater heights that I could have ever imagined.

 Muse 4

One does not have to travel to the ends of the earth or to the far outskirts of space to find a muse. People need only to open their eyes and view the beauty of life, living and breathing, around them. If you have not embraced your muse today, take the plunge and enjoy a sunrise or sunset. Close your eyes and enjoy the laughter of friends and family. Or, simply write your thoughts down on paper, and you may find that your muse is closer than you first realized.

Have you embraced your muse today?

I felt the following poem was only fitting because a person can find inspiration in the most simplistic things in life. My daughter is my muse, and my desk gives me inspiration.

“My World, My Breath, My Life”

Red oak, stained and old
I carry your words with me
Woven grains of my heart
Never am I without them
They follow me -wherever I go
Etched in my skin, body, and soul

I have no world
You’re my real world
I have no desire
You’re my true desire
My world, my breath, my life

You’re the whisper in the night
The daydream in the light
And whenever we’re together
Things are as they’re meant

You know secrets no other knows
You’re the foundation of foundations
The spark of sparks and sum of sums
The hope of hope called thought, which
Soars to distant heights called life.

You’re the wonder in a child’s eye
The word on the tip of a tongue
You’re a fading dream, a lingering kiss
You’re what keeps wonder alive

I hold you close in my heart because
You’re my world, my breath, my life

This entry was posted in Pieces of April! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a Muse?

  1. Pingback: What’s in a Muse? | April A. Luna's Blog

Leave a Reply

