Promotion

by Angela Scavone

Promotion is a fun and often scary adventure. People (not just writers) promote everything nowadays from themselves, their books, their charity work, their love of music, their political views … I could go on. However a balance is needed when promotion is being planned out. You don’t want to over promote because then people start to hate you (oh Kim Kardashian and Kanye West too much…FAR too much) but you don’t want to under promote either so that no one knows who you are. It’s a fine line.

When authors are planning out promotions they try to plan out a successful launch on the world so that their book is recognized. Simple things like Twitter campaigns, Facebook parties, giveaways and blog hops just to name a few.
One of my favourite authors does book tours. She goes from city to city, book store to book store doing readings of her new book and then has an autograph session. That’s all well and good but unfortunately I find, as a reader, that type of promotion sometimes leaves a sour taste in the mouths of the fans whose cities she does not visit year after year…ahem is there seriously something wrong with coming north of the border? But I digress.

Although these are all great campaigns my question for you is this:

As a reader what is your preference for when your favourite author is about to release a new book? Do you enjoy the Facebook parties or the Twitter campaigns? Do you prefer a blog hop and to read various posts by one writer? Newsletter notifications? How do you like to be informed when a new book will be released?

๐Ÿ˜„

About angelascavone

I am, now, a published author. I write contemporary romantic comedy and love to promote authors.
This entry was posted in Anecdotes from Angela!. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Promotion

  1. scmitchell says:

    I’m finding that Facebook events, when I have the time to attend, are great fun.

  2. J.R.Richardson says:

    Ah, yes, I too have a fave author, and he never ever visits the south. I’m a little sour too. I love the FB parties but they usually happen at nighttime when I’m not online and I looooove the giveaways. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s upsetting isn’t it? It feels like you’ve been snubbed. Another one of my favourite authors doesn’t leave the UK for her promotions. I totally understand her reasoning behind it (finances for one) but I can’t help but feel snubbed. ๐Ÿ˜„

  3. I like the Twitter campaigns and the new followers you aquire. I also like the Newsletter notifications. If a Newsletter announcement grabs my attention, I will often check it out and end up buying it. Thanks for the great posting!

Leave a Reply

