Finding the Perfect SWAG by Beth Carter

Little did I know when I came up with the title for my debut women’s fiction, THURSDAYS AT COCONUTS, that the title itself would help with my SWAG purchases. Once I started researching ideas and considering the appropriate tie-ins for my novel, it was fairly easy to come up with suitable give-aways for launch parties and book signings.

For example, I purchased:

* Coconut lip balm (Get it? Coconut?) And it’s AMAZING. Creamy and luscious, plus my book cover is on the tube. I was able to choose my lid color and the tubes are sealed.

coconut lip balm standing

*Coconut roll-on cologne. It smells like you’re at the beach! Again, with the palm fronds on my cover and the name of my novel, this is a perfect fit.

coconut cologne for Th At Coconuts

* Tote Bags – I decided to go with black totes because everyone chooses tan. They really highlight my book cover. I’m having a signing soon and I plan to use them as an incentive for the first 25 people who buy my novel! Think big, I say.

Tote Bags for Th At Coc

* Bookmarks – I included my name, genres I write, website, and a QR code that goes directly to the buy link on Amazon.

Bookmarks for Th At Coconuts

I have a couple of other things that I plan to use if I ever have an in-person launch party and they’re a surprise for those folks. But, see, you don’t have to go with the same old pen, although every author (and reader for that matter) uses pens so they’re not a bad idea. I encourage you to think outside the box when you’re considering buying author SWAG. I tried to stay under $2 per item and less than $1 is even better. I did purchase a small shipment of coffee mugs and I dropped two off at a local restaurant that uses local companies’ mugs on their breakfast tables. Free advertising!

I used several vendors including Zazzle, Discount Mugs, Cafe Press, and The Book Swag Shop on Facebook. Just Google “author swag” and you’ll be off and running. Good luck and have fun when choosing your SWAG.

GIVEAWAY!!! If five people download my book, show it to me on your device and you can pick any swag item you’d like. (U.S. only, please. Sorry.) Bookmarks are free. Here’s the buy link:

tinyurl.com/l9m26ht

thursdaysatcoconuts 850x1275HIGH

About Beth Carter

Award-winning novelist and children's book author. Former marketer; current Skinny Vanilla Latte lover. A bank VP and hospital PR director turned pajama-wearing writer.
This entry was posted in Beth's Blogging Today!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Finding the Perfect SWAG by Beth Carter

  1. Great swag ideas! Love the coffee mugs – yes, free advertising rocks. And coconut lip balm…mmmm. Makes me think of Pina Coladas!

  2. Madelyn Hill says:

    Great ideas!

  3. L.D. Rose says:

    Great ideas, Beth! Love how you match them with your novel. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Excellent post, Beth! I’m bookmarking it for future reference. 🙂

  5. Nancy Fraser says:

    Some great ideas. I just WISH we had a local restaurant that promo’d local business with mugs. Maybe I should put a bug in someone’s ear. Thanks for the suggestions.

  6. Your ideas are so fun. I’m trying to take your advice and think outside the bos.

  7. Awesome article! I’ll share it on Maddie Loves Lip Balm! The tote bags DO looks awesome in black, showing of the book cover in a great light!

    • Beth Carter says:

      Thanks, Denise. I’m not at home, and when I wrote this post last night, I couldn’t remember the name of your company. It hit me in the middle of the night,, co I’m so glad you mentioned Maddie Loves Lip Balm. Everyone, that’s where the luscious coconut lip balm came from and she has many different flavors. Thanks for sharing it on your site!

  8. Beth, I like your suggestion of the black tote. I’ll think about that. I’ve used off white. I have used mugs. My last batch I put both book covers on and a picture of myself along with my web page. But next time I will put the qr code. What I have done, instead of bookmarks, is a business sized picture of my book covers and the qr codes on the back of it for the purchase link and my web page. They are easy to carry and pass out. Our covers give a lot of information about the book just by their design.
    Great idea of the lip balm.

  9. laynemacadam says:

    Excellent post! Lots of useful information and I love the lip balm!!

  10. These are great ideas! Thanks for sharing. Your story sounds like a great one too.

Leave a Reply

