Social Media, not so scary after all: By Rose Lange

“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.” ~ Mark Twain

My brainchild is turning six months old soon, and as I continue on this journey of being a published author, I got to thinking how much has happened over this past year. How far I’ve come out of my comfort zone, not only in social media, but in my writing as well.

I remember signing my contract with Soulmate in the fall of 2013, and how excited I was. Heck, excited doesn’t even begin to describe it. I was over the moon, ready-to-shout from-the-rooftops, throw confetti in the air, thrilled! Then I heard around from other authors that I needed a “social media platform,” and my excitement slightly deflated. Mainly because I had no clue what that was. Come to find out, I needed my own web site, Facebook fan page, Twitter, Goodreads…wait a minute, I thought to myself. How will I find the time to write with all this piled high on my plate? Not to mention I was terrified by the thought of putting myself out there. Literally, scared to death. I honestly would have been happy just writing, spending quality time with my characters, and forgetting everything else, because I’m naturally the shy type. Most of the time anyway.

However, I knew and understood how important all these things would be in my career as a romance writer. So, I took the advice of a fellow, veteran author. She told me to “start small,” with a website and Facebook, and then to slowly add more platforms as I got more comfortable.

I’ll be honest; I never thought I would be adding more, because I didn’t think I’d be very good at it. Or that I’d be any good at creating my own web site for that matter! Don’t get me wrong, I would have loved to pay a professional to design one for me, but for now, that just wasn’t in my budget. Not to toot my own horn, but I surprised even myself by how well it turned out. I sleighed one dragon, and now it was on to a Facebook Author page. Ugh, I thought, another daunting, scary task. Well, I persevered in that feat as well, as I slowly built up my fan page.

Now, almost a year later, I have a web site, a Facebook Author page, Twitter, and my own personal blog, which I recently added to my arsenal. I never thought I would be comfortable enough to put myself out there, be comfortable enough to step out of my comfort zone. Well, in my mind, I not only stepped out of it, I took a huge flying leap! And what made it less scary from the beginning, was the support of my writer friends, and fellow authors/editors at SMP. Anytime I had a question, or needed help building my fan page, anything…they were there for me. I want to thank each and every one of you in the SMP family, because I couldn’t have made that running leap without you all holding my hand. This newbie author thanks you, from the bottom of my heart. 🙂

http://www.roselange.com

Facebook: Rose Lange, Author

Twitter: Rose Lange @writingdiva82

Blog: https://www.roselangeauthor.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Rose In The Garden!, Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Social Media, not so scary after all: By Rose Lange

  1. Rose, I think you are doing an excellent job, managing your time and energy, writing..
    I believe, each author needs a little bit of exposure even on Facebook, it’s an excellent place, for readers, to find new authors and their books! The secret, I think you you already know it, is to balance your energy and focus on your priority. As a reader and reviewer, I had to do the same thing.. choose my priorities!
    I loved your first book and I’m looking forward to your next one! Happy Writing Rose!

    • Hi Nicole, thank you for stopping by today! 🙂 And I’m so glad you enjoyed “Gracie’s Plan.” As an author, I appreciate your time, and effort writing a review. I’m grateful to have met you through Facebook.

  2. Rose, in my opinion, you started with the perfect quote! Marketing and promotion are scary for me, too, so I take the first step, then the next, then… you get the idea! 🙂 –katie o’boyle

    • Thank you for stopping today, Kate. 🙂 I really appreciate it! When I became published, I never anticipated how challenging it would be, adding social media to my writing. But, I keep fine tuning it as I go along, and things are balanced, not so overwhelming.

  3. Congratulations Rose on opening yourself and experiences up to readers and other writers. We grow together and learn from each other.

  4. laynemacadam says:

    Thanks for sharing your experiences Rose. Writing is an interesting journey isn’t it! A lot of ups and a lot of downs but a great ride nevertheless!

Leave a Reply

