Springtime Changes, By: Rose Lange

ss-relaxationInhale, exhale. Relax. Repeat. These are words I need to keep as a running dialogue in my mind these next few days, and weeks. It’s going to be a very busy Spring in my neck of the woods, but they’re exciting changes!

The biggest change is our new home. As I write this post, we’re mere days away from closing on our new home April 10th. I’m a mixture of emotions, that have oftentimes been frustrating to deal with. For me, and those closest to me.  I’m excited, happy, nervous, very emotional overall. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thrilled at the prospect of a new living space. I’ve been “decorating in my head” since the moment we set foot in this house. I was shopping at Target over the weekend, and I was like a kid in a candy store. I saw so many things that I wanted for our home; from closet organization, to pot holders for the kitchen. No doubt about it, that place will be a danger zone after we close! On the flip side, I’m sad at leaving our current house, which we’ve called home for the last ten years. When we bought it, we were newlyweds, and while it wasn’t my “ideal” home at the time, it grew on me. However, I know it is time to move, and I’m feeling grateful.

Another big change coming down the line for me, is my son’s fifth birthday. He’s growing like crazy (oftentimes making me crazy) but I can’t imagine my life without him. I’m going to use an overused cliche here, but it seems like only yesterday…I was in labor, and then holding him in my arms for the first time. I remember falling in love with this little person my husband and I brought into the world. He was so tiny, wrinkly, and I was completely smitten. When I look back at old photos of him, or look at clothes I’ve saved, I can’t believe he was ever that small. Sigh…my baby is growing up.

The last change coming down the pipeline, is I’m in the process of personal edits for my second manuscript. I thought after having one book published already, the jitters, the nerves would lessen. I was surprised to find out they haven’t. I’m just as nervous about the second time around, as I prepare to send it to my editor. Both the manuscript, and mentally preparing. Sending my second “brain baby” into the world is as nerve-wracking as it was the first time. The process never gets easier, but I wouldn’t change a thing. I love the house I’m published with, the kind folks I’ve befriended…everyone I’ve dealt with has been amazing, and very supportive. It has made the entire process less scary.

I guess as I look closer at all these changes, they share a common factor. They’re all good, positive changes, but I’m still (slightly) overwhelmed by them. I’m more relaxed as things loom closer, but in the beginning I found myself crying a lot, because it felt like everything was going to swallow me up. So I took solace in the things that soothed me. Writing, talking it out with a friend, watching a movie, time alone doing nothing. It was the self-care I needed, that has made life, a little less stressful.

Rose Lange

Website: http://www.roselange.com

Facebook: Rose Lange, Author

Twitter: Rose Lange @writingdiva82

Blog: https://roselangeauthor.wordpress.com

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/langerose/

This entry was posted in Rose In The Garden!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Springtime Changes, By: Rose Lange

  1. L.D. Rose says:

    So much excitement! I know it’s stressful but these are great things going on in your life. And never forget to take time for yourself (which it sounds like you’re doing). Best of luck with everything. 🙂

  2. Susan Ioanou-Silver aka lilmouse says:

    I am so excited for you – anxious to see you and the new house – best of luck with the new manuscript…

Leave a Reply

