Second Act Wisdom – Part V

In the Second Acts series on my blog, over eighty women from Australia, Canada, Great Britain, and the United States share their reinvention stories, proudly revealing their battle scars and triumphs.

Their message: It’s never too late to launch a second…third…nth act.

21724037_s

More pearls of wisdom from twelve amazing women…

Being at a turning point in your life, be it by your own choice or by circumstances beyond your control, can be a scary and daunting . But fear of change shouldn’t hold you back. Other fears may seem to be insurmountable or even prove to be so, but don’t hold back changing your life because of your own lack of confidence or fear of the unknown. Anne Ashby

I’m calmer now. I’m content. This Day Job doesn’t intrude in my home life the way broadcasting did. I have more energy to put into my writing career. And now, when situations threaten to overwhelm me, I can remember what Eckhart Tolle said: “This moment is temporary.” MJ Compton

If a butterfly can undergo metamorphosis from a creepy crawly caterpillar into something beautiful and extraordinary, why shouldn’t a human being, with all his/her numerous sensibilities, be able to change at will? Andrea Downing

I realized all these years of struggling with fear and insecurity, I had actually been waiting for permission. I had been waiting for that unknown someone, to pick me and confirm that I was a writer. If you’ve been waiting for permission, let me encourage you to go ahead and pick yourself. Embrace the freedom of who you are. Lorna Faith

Follow your bliss. If it’s not writing, that’s okay. Whatever it is, when things get hard, do as Dori says and, “Just keep swimming! Just keep swimming! Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming!” Camille Faye

My advice to anyone planning to pursue a second act is to not allow fear to win out. YOU CAN DO IT! The universe is waiting for you to “show up” and it’s never too late to pursue a dream. Ask yourself “If not now, when?” Lucille Fisher

God puts dreams in our hearts for a reason. It is our duty and responsibility to see that those dreams come to fruition. One of my favorite quotes is “every set back is a set-up for something new and exciting.”… My best advice to anyone pursing a dream is just this: never give up on it. It may take 5 minutes, 5 years, or a generation to fulfill, but I truly feel you are never too old, and no dream is ever too big, to pursue. Peggy Jaeger

I am allowing myself to thrive and be successful and happy, I don’t need any more approval from anyone. And I love teaching this deep transformational work to other women who are stuck on midlife crossroads. Saskia Jennings

Listen to yourself. If you so choose, become curious and present with what you’re noticing and engage with the support that is best suited to you. Stephanie Mount

If someone is thinking of pursuing a second act, I would say go for it! It’s easier than ever before with online information, free workshops in the community, and Google. Plus you know, exercising your brain keeps you young! (I’m back to 39 now.) Dr. Linda O’Connor

I now feel I’m building on my skill set to really support clients to value themselves for their uniqueness and to design lives for themselves that they love. I really believe that we have the capacity to heal ourselves from depression, lack of self-confidence, overwhelm, trauma and the diseases that are associated with them. The first step we have to take is to ask for help and support to do it. Catherine Simmons

Act II is funny and fulfilling. I love talking to audiences, giving out surprise door prizes, and listening to the many people who come to book signings. I also feel happiest when I’m neck deep in research and trying to figure out how to solve a plot problem. Now, instead of teaching people, I’m entertaining them. But I’m still remaining true to what I did for forty-four years: I’m getting people to read. Susan Van Kirk

About Joanne Guidoccio

In 2008, Joanne retired from a 31-year teaching career and launched a second act that tapped into her creative side. Slowly, a writing practice emerged. Her articles and book reviews were published in newspapers, magazines, and online. When she tried her hand at fiction, she made reinvention a recurring theme in her novels and short stories. A member of Crime Writers of Canada, Sisters in Crime, and Romance Writers of America, Joanne writes paranormal romance, cozy mysteries, and inspirational literature from her home base of Guelph, Ontario.
This entry was posted in What's Up With Joanne! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Second Act Wisdom – Part V

  1. kathybryson says:

    I love these Joanne! Hearing everyone else’s experience is very reassuring as you step off the prescribed path.

  2. Very inspiring, Joanne. Glad you’re sticking with this project. A lot of people need a voice and a place to sing.

  3. Karen Rossi says:

    The Retired Teachers of Ontario are looking for stories on this very topic, and among us older baby boomers it is the talk of the day: What can we do for Act II. I think what keeps most of us from jumping off the cliff is fear. But, really, what have we got to lose? As Lucille Fisher says, if we want to do something, the only question we should be asking is, “If not now, when?” .

    • Hi Karen, I’m also finding that reinvention comes up in my conversations with retirees and wannabe retirees. We are fortunate to have more choices and opportunities than previous generations. Thanks for dropping by. Joanne 🙂
      BTW…I’m a RTO member.

  4. Beth Carter says:

    Great advice from some inspiring women. Thanks for showcasing this, Joanne.

Leave a Reply

