Romantic Times Convention – Dallas, Texas

This morning I’m blogging for cloud-covered downtown, Dallas, Texas. I’m at the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention with my good friend and author, Beth M. James. If you haven’t ever been to this convention, it is quite the experience. It’s a chance to mingle, talk, and promote with readers, librarians, booksellers, aspiring authors, and published authors. The convention lasts four days, and I can tell you, they are exhausting days. There are workshops, parties, giveaways, more workshops, parties and giveaways. You don’t go home empty handed, that’s for sure. At one event I won nine books, and with the books at our table, I left the room with thirteen books!

IMG_9995This is my fourth RT convention, and each year I meet more and more wonderful people. It’s also great fun to re-connect with people you only see at the convention and be greeted like a long-lost friend. I won’t be able to attend next year. I’ll miss not seeing these people.

This year I’m participating in the Club RT Author Spotlight. Every half hour, a different group of authors come into the room, sit at tables with three other authors and talk to readers. It’s great fun. Beth and I also do a giveaway basket.

The first day here, before the convention actually started, we walked downtown and saw where

Book Depository where Lee Harvey Oswald shot President Kennedy.

Book Depository where Lee Harvey Oswald shot President Kennedy.

John F. Kennedy was shot. We visited the museum which is located on the sixth floor of the Book Depository where Lee Harvey Oswald shot Kennedy. As I was not quite a teenager at the time of the assassination, it brought back many memories of that day and the days that followed. I cried a few times.

On Wednesday, Soul Mate Editors, Char Chaffin and Cheryl Yeko did a Publisher spotlight. Since there are only a few of us Soulies here, there were only two of us SMP authors in the audience, Susan Muller and myself. Char and Cheryl did a great job and hopefully they picked up a few more prospective authors for SMP.

IMG_9977

 

IMG_9978

As an author, if you’ve never attended RT, I recommend trying it at least once. It’s an experience you’ll never forget. Today is the huge book fair with over 600 authors selling and signing. I haven’t been brave enough to do this one as an author. I’ve been to it as a reader and its chaotic, noisy, and a blast. It’s a chance to meet the “big” authors. Last year I met Lee Child, Jill Shavis, Jude Deveraux, Shayla Black, Eloisa James, and many others. This year I hope to meet Kathy Reichs.

So off for some work and fun.

 

About Tina Susedik, Author

Please visit my website. New updates to come.
This entry was posted in Catching Up With Tina S!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Romantic Times Convention – Dallas, Texas

  1. Beth Carter says:

    Thanks for the info, Tina. Loved hearing about the convention and seeing pics of all of you. I hope to go next year when its in Vegas!!

  2. I wasn’t planning on going to Vegas, but once I was at the convention in Dallas, and talking to my fellow authors, I’m going to try my hardest to be there. Hope to see you.

Leave a Reply

