Birthing An Elephant

be1This month, I finished Book 3 of my series – Fighting Mad. I am enormously proud of finishing. This was a challenging book and it took almost 2 years. That’s as long as it takes to birth a baby Asian elephant, the longest gestation on record!

Why so long? Well, I planned to pull my notes together and deliver the final polish last summer. Then Obamacare kicked in, I started losing hours, and had to get a regular job. It is amazing how much of your life gets eaten up in that 40 hours. Writing around students, on lunch hours, after a long day – didn’t happen! I did, however, create a whole new definition of ‘weekend warrior!’

be2Then, the book kept growing. Baby elephants are almost 3 feet tall and weigh 260 pounds at birth. My book was only 88,000 words, not so much in word count, but it made up for it in story. I had two – the central romance between the heroine and the hero and resolving the conflict in the background story.

Now the baby’s here, I have to feed and care for it. Baby elephants need their mother’s milk for their 1st year, but aren’t fully weaned until 3 years old. Nearly 80% of an elephant’s day is spent feeding, several hundred pounds of vegetation daily.

be3Books need an initial launch, then ongoing promotion to maintain or revive sales. Since this is the last of a trilogy, I’ll need to promote both earlier books to kick off sales for this one. Fortunately, Restless Spirits was just chosen as a Paranormal finalist in CRW’s 2015 Award of Excellence Contest!

Now, elephants usually go 4-5 years between births. I’ve already started notes on my next book. That’s because elephants are also keystone species. They’re pivotal to their ecosystem. Without them, the physical structure of the environment collapses and become barren. Three books later, I see everything in terms of stories. My ecosystem’s evolved around them!

More about elephants –

About kathybryson

Award Winning Fantasy with a Twist!
This entry was posted in Hanging Out With Kathy! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birthing An Elephant

  1. Madelyn Hill says:

    Wonderful post!

  2. Beth Carter says:

    Fun analogy. Congrats on finishing!

  3. kathybryson says:

    Thanks, all! Babies are adorable!

  4. I love this comparison! 🙂 Nice, well-rounded analogy. 🙂

    Congratulations on finishing AND on finaling in the AoE!

  5. kathybryson says:

    Thanks Natalie! It’s very exciting being nominated!

  6. Love this analogy! Good luck with your books.

Leave a Reply

