Pennsic War

HPIM0712.JPG

“Burn the village!” The cry rang out through the dark. We really weren’t surprised, after all, that’s what Vikings do. And as this was a Viking Feast at Pennsic War, certain expectations had to be met. The ale had been drunk, the musicians had entertained, stories had been told and now the village must be burned. (The tiny replica had been supplied by the neighboring encampment.) It was the perfect end to a perfect evening.

HPIM0728.JPG

I love my time at Pennsic. The activities help me to recharge my creativity. And, even though I write stories set in Georgian England and Scotland, I still enjoy the chance to step back in time and meet some interesting people.

HPIM0722.JPG

There’s always so much to do. If something was a part of medieval life you can find it here. I’ve taken classes in weaving, falconry, the harp, herbs, jewelry making, wood carving and working in copper – just to name a few. If you fancy a song, you can join the choir or participate in battles on the field of honor.

HPIM0788.JPG

One year they had the most amazing fireworks I’ve ever seen. However, fireworks and canvas tents don’t play well together, so they didn’t have a repeat performance.

HPIM0793.JPG

If you’d like more information on Pennsic War you can go to www.pennsicwar.org

The war is held every year at Slippery Rock, PA. Do you have a passion or event you enjoy? I’d love to know what you do to keep the creative juices flowing.

About Dawn Ireland

When I'm not writing historical romance, I'm practicing my harp, gardening, singing, acting, wood carving... Okay, you get the idea, I love to create.
This entry was posted in Dawn's Offering. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pennsic War

  1. Never thought of burning down a village as a way to relax and recharge. But now that you describe it, I can see the possibilities.

  2. Dorlana says:

    I’ve never heard of this before – sounds interesting – but we do go to the Tx Renaissance Festival every year.

Leave a Reply

