“Milestones and Nostalgia: By Rose Lange”

 

gracesplanI still remember sitting next to my son on the couch in the Fall of 2013, when I got “the e-mail,” and I screamed. And it’s crazy how it’s been almost a year since my first book was released. Thinking back to how I had zero clue, into the amount of effort, time, and patience it takes to release a book. When it was released into the world on August 26, 2014, it added an entirely different layer to my experience, because now readers were relating to my characters, or as I affectionately call them, “my people.” When readers write reviews, or send e-mails saying how much they enjoyed the book, how they couldn’t put it down, and didn’t want it to end, how they can’t wait for my next book. Priceless, and wonderful words, that I will never tire of hearing. I am thankful for my readers. After all the blood, sweat, tears, time, and doubts, that goes into writing a book…getting those e-mails, reviews, makes it all worth while.

I had a couple pretty exciting milestones this week. My first was, on June 23rd, when I was offered a contract for my second manuscript “AKA” my brain baby. It could’ve been the first time for all anyone knew, because the excitement level was just as high. I still experienced joy, elation, excitement, and heck, I was downright giddy! And to be honest, now that it’s been a little over a week later, that natural high has still not worn off.

The other milestone I reached is my first book, “Gracie’s Plan,” went into print form! I cannot wait to hold my “baby” in my hands. To proudly take a copy to my local library, and donate it. I’m getting butterflies in my stomach, thinking about how the very library I visited as a budding writer…will now carry my book. There are no words to describe how that makes me feel.

As I sit here writing this post, I think of the fourteen-year-old girl in her old bedroom on Erie Street. Hunched over her desk, furiously writing first attempts, going to the library pouring over locale research, brainstorming ideas, and dreaming about becoming a published author. I may have fallen off the writing bandwagon for a period of time, but I always knew I’d someday be published. For me it was never an issue of “if” but “when.” And now that it has been a reality for almost a year, with a new release in the near future, I am happy, but also humbled. I think of all the hard work, and determination it took to get to this point, and I can’t help but be proud of myself. I also learned, that you never stop learning your craft, even after you’re published. That there is always something new to learn, improve on, work at, and to push yourself just a little more with every manuscript.

Website: http://www.roselange.com

Facebook: Rose Lange, Author

Twitter: @writingdiva82

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/langerose/

Blog: https://roselangeauthor.wordpress.com

 

 

This entry was posted in Rose In The Garden!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Milestones and Nostalgia: By Rose Lange”

  1. Beth Carter says:

    Sweet post. Loved it. And thanks for the reminder about donating our books to libraries!

  2. kathybryson says:

    Congrats, Rose! Some big accomplishments here!

Leave a Reply

