I AM AN AUTHOR, HEAR ME ROAR!!!!

Good morning everyone. For those that don’t know me, my name is Amy Deason and I am a relatively new author for Soul Mate Publishing. My first book, Angel in the Shadows, is set to be released very soon and my short story, Second Chances: A Christmas Story, will be included in the Christmas anthology. And in addition to that, I am joining the Soul Mate guest blogging team. Needless to say, I am very excited and I wasn’t sure what my first blog would be about. And then it hit me. Start off with something that I love. Being an part of a special group of people: authors. So please, take a moment and read on if you too, feel proud to be called an author. Enjoy!

books2

Some people ask: Why would you want to be an author? Most of them don’t get paid much and it seems like such a fickle job. Why not do something more meaningful?  There are numerous answers I could give them but I think one of my all time favorite authors summed it up extremely well so I am going to quote him.

Stephen King: The answer to that is fairly simple-there was nothing else I was made to do. I was made to write stories and I love to write stories. That’s why I do it. I really can’t imagine doing anything else and I can’t imagine not doing what I do.

While it is true that many of us will not reach super stardom with our books like Stephen King, it doesn’t matter. Writing is what we do. It is what we are. How many of you devoured books as a child? Not in the literal sense of course-that would be odd to say the least.  Smiley1 No,  mean reading everything in sight. I know I did. As soon as I was able to read, I would set for hours, reading a variety of books, day after day, night after night. And even before I could actually read, I would grab a book and by looking at the pictures, make up my own story. That’s right. Before I was able to read or write, I was telling stories.  That’s pretty incredible. So I agree with Stephen King. I was made to write.

Think of it like this: How many times have you woken up in the middle of the night or in e morning and had to jot down some random idea that came to you? Or been at your job or doing some other daily chore and suddenly had to grab a pencil and paper to write down some conversation a character was having in your head?  And I mean HAD to. As in, if you don’t it’s going to drive you crazy. I do this all of the time. I have scraps of paper filled with notes scattered from here to there. It might drive my husband mad if he didn’t realize and understand the need, the ‘have to’.

pen and paper

It is often a hard job to be an author. You have to send several hours typing the story out and honing the characters. Then you have to send your baby out in the hopes that someone will love it as much as you do. It’s a very anxious and nerve racking time. But then, low and behold, you get offered a contract! Yippee! But now the real work begins. The editing, the re-edits, choosing a cover, promoting, and more promoting. And then the waiting. Waiting and hoping that the world will care about your characters enough t read their amazing story. It’s all kind of crazy really.  I love writing!

writing

I love to use my imagination and create new worlds, new characters, new situations. But I also love to read. It doesn’t matter the genre, if it’s a good story, I am so there! But it’s not only the story that draws me in. It’s the realization that by picking up a book and reading it, I am connecting with the author on some basic level. Because after all, every book that an author writes is a small piece of them, of who they are. Not to say that just because their character is a werewolf, vampire, 17th century countess, or a single mom trying to survive that THAT is who they really are. I’m talking about the deeper picture. The quest for love, truth, safety, loyalty, justice. This are the things that the author, through their characters, are pursuing. On top of this, when you read one of their works, you hold their loves and hates, their dreams and nightmares, their hopes and fears. Each book is a piece of them.

writing.jpg1

And for us to be authors and to be able to not only put these things into words but to share them with the world is quite an amazing thing. It’s almost like magic in a way. Write a few words and a whole new world opens up, strangers start to speak and share their lives with you. Wow….

books

So for all of these reasons, that’s why I am an author. It doesn’t matter if you get your book published by a huge, multi-million dollar company, a smaller scale publishing branch, or even self-publish. The fact is: You are an author. You are sharing yourself, your visions, your dreams, with the world.

                                                       Roar2-700x700

About AmesGrace

I am a working wife, mother, and new author. In my free time, I love to read, write, and take pictures. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. We do a lot of bike riding, playing sports, swimming, and watching movies.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I AM AN AUTHOR, HEAR ME ROAR!!!!

  1. HI Ames. Very nice post. I’m going to be in the Christmas anthology with you.

  2. L.D. Rose says:

    Completely agree, Amy! Great post. 😀

  3. traceyawood says:

    Reblogged this on Tracey A Wood 'The Authors Blog' and commented:
    Great blog Amy. Well done.

Leave a Reply

