The Write Word with Wareeze–Creating Worlds

Creating Worlds

By Wareeze Woodson

Welcome to the Soul Mate Publishing blog. What do you suppose the weather is like in Regency England this day? The created world should hold the answers.

Are readers interested in the workings behind the scene? Some say readers are curious about what it takes to write a book. Here is a small glimpse behind the scene of writing. When I write my historical novels, I must create my own worlds. The Regency/Victorian era is a historical fact, but make-believe for all that, because it no longer exists. With each story, the scene must be created—when in time, day or night, where-location and what is happening. What the character sees, feels, and wants—all must be imagined and displayed for the reader.

Although the author has many historical facts to draw from, the story must exist in the world created by the writer. The colors, the sounds, the tastes and the smells add flavor to the story. The reader wants to visit these places through the character’s point of view and safely absorb the emotions as well. All rather a lot to provide for the reader and the bar is set high with expectations.

ENTER A SCENE CREATED FOR YOU, THE READER:

The flame of the candle flickered and glinted off the in-laid sliver on the barrel of the pistol pointed directly at Isabel. Fear griped her by the throat and she caught her breath, unable to move or even swallow.

The drapes billowed into the room on a sharp breeze before settling back to the floor with a barely discernable swoosh. The smell of London after a downpour, drifted into the open window, cleansed but still dominated by the odor of horses, foot traffic, and a tavern down the way. She shivered when her drenched cloak swung against the layers of her petticoats with a chilling heaviness. The damp cloth clung to her ankles while moisture trickled down her features into her eyes. She scarce blinked, her gaze captured by the gun.

The longcase clock in the hall chimed once echoing down the empty passageway. Even at this hour, the sound of a carriage rumbling over the cobbled-stones in front of the manor reached the upper level.

I hope I’ve raised several questions in your mind with these few sentences. Is the man with the pistol the hero or the villain? Is this Isabel’s house, or did she enter the manor for some nefarious purpose? What happens next?

I created a small glimpse of this world of danger, building tension yet the reader is safe. This is the world of my imagination. Would a spider crawl up the wall—no, too much? It’s too dark to see a spider, even in my mind.

I like this world where velvet and fine jaconet muslins were worn to the Assemblies at Almack’s, where danger lurks before and after the ball, as well. The lives of the characters also dwell in this created world. What will happen to her, to him in this tale? Only the author of this created world knows and I’m not telling. After all, this is only make-believe, created in the imagination.  Perhaps one day, I’ll take up the tale.

In my world of writing, I have created two published works: Conduct Unbecoming of a Gentleman (Regency romance mixed with suspense) plus An Enduring Love (another Regency romance tangled with suspense and mystery) both published by Soul Mate Publishing. I have a third Regency romance under contract: A Lady’s Vanishing Choices. Coming soon. More information is posted at my website. Wareezewoodson.com

Thanks for visiting with me today.    DSCN5319

About wareeze

I am a native of Texas and still live in this great state. I write period romance tangled with suspense. I married my high school sweetheart, years and years ago. We raised four children and have eight grandchildren, and grandchildren are Grand. At the moment, all my children and my grandchildren live within seventy miles of our home, lots of visits. My husband and I still love each other after all these years the stuff romance is made of, Happy Ever After!
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Write Word with Wareeze–Creating Worlds

  1. wareeze says:

    Thanks Neva. I appreciate it. Thanks for the likes as well.

Leave a Reply

