E-Rovin with Anne

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD.

My historical romance novel, Sea of Passion, was released by Soul Mate last August. While it was so exciting to see my book up on Amazon and to read it on my kindle, nothing beat when I got to hold the real paper back of my book a week and a half ago. It was a dream come true!

I started to write Sea of Passion when I was twenty one years old. I was fresh out of college and I read romance novels like it was my job. Then one day I got an idea for a book and I sat down at my computer and started to write. I didn’t know anything about the industry. I didn’t know if I would ever finish the book, but I started to write. I was embarrassed to tell any of my friends that I had started to write a book for fear of them laughing at me. So, I kept it a secret.

I didn’t finish Sea of Passion until I was twenty eight years old. But then I didn’t know what to do with my manuscript. When I was thirty one I went to my first book conference and then I joined my local RWA chapter. Sea of Passion went through lots of revisions and changes. I have since written 4 other novels, but this one will always be my first baby as well as my favorite.

SeaofPassion_850HIGHThank you to Soul Mate and Debby Gilbert for helping to make my dream come true.

About Lawson Novels

Author of Historical and Contemporary Romance novels
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to E-Rovin with Anne

  1. Karen Rossi says:

    Anne, did your story ever ring a bell! I began to write my first romance novel about 35 years ago. I finished it and submitted it. It was rejected. I left it for about 10 years and then went over it again, changing not only aspects of the plot, but the characters, too. It didn’t look much like the original story any more. Of course I was writing other works all this time, but was determined that someday this story would see the light of day. Now, after going through even more changes I have resubmitted it, and it looks promising. I can hardly.wait to see it published. As it WILL be. One day!

  2. Karen Rossi says:

    I forgot to say, I love the cover, Anne!

  3. Good luck getting yours published! My original changed drastically over the years before being published as well. But I am so glad that as a 21 year old I have it a shot and started to write.

  4. There are not many thrills in life that match holding a paper copy of your own book. Congratulations.

  5. Beth Carter says:

    I think most of us can relate to your story about young dreams becoming a reality. Nice post and great cover! Congrats.

  6. Dorlana says:

    That’s really cool that you kept on pursuing your first book. Mine is in a drawer or a box – around here somewhere …

Leave a Reply

