Important Things

This is my first blog for Soul Mate, so I’m new to most of you. Honestly, I’m still sort of new all the way around.

light-681540_1280In light of that, I’ll tell you a little bit about me. I live in the southern United States, and I’m probably older than you think I am. I have a husband who my friends have knighted as Mr. Perfect, and he pretty  much is. (Seriously … he does his own laundry.) I have a day job, parents, in-laws, siblings, and a huge extended family.  We’ve been through a lot lately: depression, broken bones, adoptions, new babies, extended illness, funerals, retirement…

Since I live away from my family, I also have a large network of friends. Best friends, close friends, friends I know in person, and those I know from online. Some friends I see daily, some I talk to regularly on the phone, and some I chat with in passing. A few I just met at the Romance Writers of America Conference in New York City.

montmartre-726987_1280My friends have been through a lot too: sending children to college, job dissatisfaction, struggling through their journeys both in life and in writing. Some are struggling with serious illnesses.  Those illnesses make me think about all the other friends I’ve lost.

And I’m over here with a book under contract …

All these developments, have made me reflective.

First, obviously, it’s not all about me. There are things going on in my life that are more important than my book. I need to look up from my keyboard and pay attention. I need to listen to those around me instead of thinking about plots and conflict. Life is full of REAL conflict every day.

live-511556_1280But second is that life is short – too short, and nothing should be taken for granted. Not the husband asleep in his chair, the family in another state, or the friend on the other end of the phone. And not that you’ll have time to write.

See, here’s the thing … several years ago (more than I care to admit), one of my high school English teachers told me I wasn’t creative.  Since she was someone I admired, I believed her. As a result, I never wrote another word of fiction. I didn’t even take fiction classes in college. I stopped writing.

woman-792162_1280Until four years ago, when I decided I’d try. If I truly did suck at it, no one needed to know. And that first story did suck, because I’d spent years running from being creative. I didn’t have the tools. But the bug had bitten me, and I love learning new things – so I dove in head first.

And now I have a book under contract ….

The journey isn’t over. It’s only just begun. I’ll be learning new lessons about writing for the rest of my life. I could have started earlier, true – and I wish I had. I’ve wasted far too many years.

hand-791230_1280Because life is short.

What are your creative dreams?  Are you pursuing them? What has been the most encouraging moment so far in your journey?

Mia 

Find me at:
WebsiteFacebook | Twitter
About Mia Kay

I am the author of Soft Target, published by Carina Press.
This entry was posted in Happy Days With Mia, Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Important Things

  1. Karen Rossi says:

    Don’t think about wasted years, Mia! You were gathering life experiences. Now just make sure make the best use of those remaining years (which are probably a lot more than mine!) and do a lot of damage! A friend I met at a romance writers’ conference started writing at age 73. She died recently at 94 and wrote books to the very end. I always hold her up as my shining example of what can be accomplished if one puts one’s mind to it, rather than bemoan the “lost years”. Heaven knows I could probably have had a ton of books published by now if I’d have written in earnest instead of just dabbling around all those years. But think of all the experiences I’ve had in life and can now use in my novels!

    • Mia Kay says:

      Thanks, Karen! All my “life experiences” definitely affect my writing and my novels, and I believe it’s for the better. They changed my humor and my opinion of what love is (and isn’t) – and they gave me lots of fodder for stories. 🙂 I’m going to hold your friend up as my example, too! Thanks so much for commenting.
      — Mia

  2. Great introduction, Mia. Welcome and know there are many here who relate to your journey. Your experiences are why your novels will be special and will touch others lives. There are many “success” stories of writers and artists who started later in life yet still managed to produce notable work for decades. Writing is a journey and life is the story.

    • Mia Kay says:

      Thanks, Terri! I think there are a lot of “us” who wait until we have time to pursue a dream (or even a hobby). And you’re correct, a later start is just later and those life experiences, the journey, infuses every word on the page. Thanks for commenting.
      –Mia

  3. Welcome to the Soul Mate family!

    • Mia Kay says:

      Thanks, Catherine! I loved getting the chance to meet a few Soulies in NYC last week, and I’m enjoying getting to know everyone else on our digital home.
      — Mia

  4. Welcome to the Soul Mate family.

  5. Welcome to the Soulmate family, Mia! You’re in very good company. Beautifully written post, very thought evoking. Those years weren’t wasted, and are no doubt enriching your writing. I started pursuing my dreams again before my son was born six years ago, and I have never looked back. Good luck with your latest release! 🙂

Leave a Reply

