Camille’s in the House! Please Welcome Camille Faye to the Blogathon!

Camille FayeToday I have Camille Faye at the Blogathon! And she’s also doing a fab giveaway, so stay tuned for info on that!

Camille, tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

I am smack dab in the middle of the mothering season. I have a toddler and a soon-to-be second grader. You think that age difference would mean they wouldn’t fight, well, like siblings. And you’d be wrong. In between my job as a mom-referee, I write for my critique group’s blog, The Literary Ladies, which focuses on empowering women writers. I also write paranormal fiction which is based on my personal experiences growing up in a haunted house. Voodoo Butterfly, my debut novel, was a 2013 Lone Star Contest finalist and has earned only 4 and 5-star reviews on Amazon. (Mama’s proud).

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

When I was 8 or 9, I’d type stories about princesses and Oscar the Grouch on my mom’s electronic typewriter. Over the years, I dabbled in writing in one form or another, writing for my high school and college newspapers, reporting for a local NBC affiliate, and teaching Composition at the college level. I finally made time for my dream of writing a novel when I decided to stay home to raise my kids.

How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

My story is not one of overnight success. I started writing in October 2009 and, in one year, wrote a draft that was good enough to garner a few manuscript requests from NYC agents and editors. Over the course of the next few years, I had many editors and agents tell me they “really liked it, but it was not quite the right fit” for them. In 2013, Voodoo Butterfly was a finalist in a writing contest hosted by the Northwest Houston Romance Writers of America. One of the final round judges was Debby Gilbert, who owns Soul Mate Publishing, and she offered me a contract. Voodoo Butterfly finally made its debut 5 years, to the month, after I began writing it.

What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

I grew up in an old house where many people experienced paranormal activity. The scariest episode I experienced was waking in the middle of the night to someone—or something—tapping my head with what felt like a finger. I was so terrified, I literally couldn’t move. The drumming on my skull continued for who knows how long as I rattled off Our Fathers and Hail Marys in my mind (being the good Catholic girl that I am). Eventually, I fell asleep.

Writers face many time-constraint challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

Being a SAHM, I have very little quiet time. There have been some periods in the kids’ lives (especially during toddlerhood), that I’ve had to basically give up writing for a month or so. It sucks. I wish things were different, but it is what it is. Most times, I commit to a practice of writing 15 minutes per day. Most times it turns into an hour or more. I never have writers block because I write notes to myself throughout the day if an idea hits me. When I sit in my chair, those notes guide where the story will take me.

How do you begin a story? Do you just sit down with an idea in mind and start writing, or are you a person who wouldn’t dream of starting without a detailed outline, character sketches, and pages of research data?

I normally start out with a loose outline, but for my most recent work, I’ve made a detailed outline. So far I like it. Along the way I research about voodoo and New Orleans so that I can be as true to those cultures as possible. My plot and character development is completely made up, though, and that’s where I have my fun and freedom.
Voodoo Butterfly actually began as a dream. When I was on a family trip in New Orleans in 2008, I dreamt of a woman who had the power to change evil people good. Immediately following that dream, I had a flash of a dream where I saw Saint Louis Cathedral in NOLA completely covered in monarch butterflies. In the middle of the night, I wrote down those two imaginative sparks and it itched in the back of my mind for months. I finally started writing the story in fall 2009.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

Right now I’m working on the second book in the ‘Voodoo Butterfly’ series. My main character, Sophie, is going to go through some dark-night-of-the-soul kind of stuff. And we’re also going to get to know the dark and mysterious Jacques better. I can’t wait for people to read it!

Camille’s debut book with Soul Mate, VOODOO BUTTERFLY:

VoodooButterflyWhen twenty-five-year old Sophie Nouveau inherits her grandmother’s voodoo shop she knows nothing about voodoo. Or her family’s history of Mind Changers, who have the power to change evil people to good. To complicate matters, someone doesn’t want Sophie in New Orleans and sends a series of death threats to scare her away from her new enchanted life.
Tipped off by her grandmother’s ghost, Sophie realizes her mind-changing spell’s been missing one magic ingredient: true love. If Sophie cannot experience transformative love, she cannot make her spell work, and she will be powerless to fight back when confronted by the one who wants her dead.

 

Find Voodoo Butterfly on Amazon:

Find Camille online:
Facebook: Camille Faye
Twitter: @CamilleFaye
Website: http://www.camillefaye.com
Blog: http://www.thelitladies.com

Camille is doing two giveaways*:

1) An ebook copy of Voodoo Butterfly
2) A $5 Amazon gift card

*To enter, please 1) Follow Camille on Twitter, 2) Friend Camille on Facebook, and/or 3) Sign up for Camille’s mailing list at http://eepurl.com/6AIsT.

Comment below with which things you did for more chances to win.
Camille, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Camille’s in the House! Please Welcome Camille Faye to the Blogathon!

  1. L.D. Rose says:

    I had some scary paranormal experiences growing up too, Camille! Fascinating post and your story sounds awesome. Will definitely check it out. 😀

  2. Madelyn Hill says:

    Camille,
    Sounds like a great story. New Orleans is certainly a wonderful place for inspiration!

  3. Kim says:

    Signed up for mailing list & already friended Camille on fb!! Excited to follow-have fun!

  4. Hi Camille,
    Congratulations on your debut novel. I recall that a SAHM doesn’t have as much time as most people outside the home think. Good for you for committing to at least 15 minutes a day. True love as an ingredient. Lovely.
    Yours truly,
    Annette Bower

  5. Awesome cover, Camille! It’s been so good to meet new SMP authors through the blog-a-thon, including you. I admire your style and determination. 🙂 –katie o’boyle

  6. Beth Carter says:

    Reblogged this on Beth Carter and commented:

    We are already FB and Twitter friends. 🙂 I enjoyed hearing your background and can’t wait to read your novel!

  7. Beth Carter says:

    We are already FB and Twitter friends. 🙂 I enjoyed hearing your story and can’t wait to read Voodoo Butterfly!

  8. megdendler says:

    I’ve been seeing things about this book for along time. Look forward to reading it! I tried to follow on Twitter, but it said “pending” and followed on newsletter. Congrats on your new book!

  9. Camille Faye says:

    We have our winners…[drum roll, please]…
    Meg Dendler wins the $5 Amazon gift card
    Linda Rose wins the ebook copy of Voodoo Butterfly
    Congratulations!

  10. Patty Taylor says:

    Congratulations on your release, Camille! I’m looking forward to reading this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

