Dale’s in the House! Please Welcome Dale Ibitz to the Blogathon!

Dale IbitzToday I have Dale Ibitz at the Blogathon! And she’s doing a fab giveaway, so be sure to stay tuned for that.

Dale, great to see you, Tell us a bit about yourself. Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Born with the silver pen in my fingers, so to speak. I’ve been writing as long as I can remember. I remember the first poem I wrote in 1st grade, called The Fox with Dirty Sox. Ah, the memories! The writing bug caught and has been with me since.

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

First *romance* novel was only a couple of years ago, honestly. My first serious writing was a YA fantasy series about 15 years ago, with tendrils of romance woven in cuz a gal likes to feel that heart throb no matter what genre she’s reading.

How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

Slow! It took me a year to write the first draft, and over a year spent in editing stage. At one point I even remember my main character spending weeks just standing in the desert not knowing where to go next (neither did I).

Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

I don’t have to be alone to write . . . I can write in a coffee shop with bustle behind me as long as the bustle is not directed at me. I find music a great motivator and often have it on in the background. My best thoughts, however, come to in those half-waking moments in bed…I just need to learn to write those great thoughts down, because if I fall asleep, they’re always gone when I wake up.

Let’s talk about romance. How do you set the mood for your characters, what do you draw from that helps your H/H achieve oneness with each other? And how much conflict do you give them, along the way?

Oh, I like a lot of conflict. I want my characters to work for it! I think easy is boring. I like my men to have mystery . . . there’s something to be said for tall, dark and non-talkative that I find uber-appealing. And perfection has no place in my books: I draw from real life and the fact that no one is perfect, and nothing is black and white…but when 2 characters can accept the bad with the good, only then can oneness be achieved.

Writers face many time-constraint challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

Working full time. Biggest. Time. Constraint. Ever. I usually have about an hour to write in the morning (my most creative time) before work. Usually at night I’m too exhausted to write . . . wish I could be one of those writers that write until 2 in the morning. Not me. Most of my writing occurs on the weekends: I get up very early in the morning before the rest of the household and write for hours.

What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

Okay, this may sound weird, but editing. I love editing and fleshing out that rough draft to bring the senses to life.

What aspects of the writing process do you find most difficult?

Endings! Oh, the wailing and gnashing of teeth as I try to pace the ending and make it all come together.

How do you begin a story? Do you just sit down with an idea in mind and start writing, or are you a person who wouldn’t dream of starting without a detailed outline, character sketches, and pages of research data?

I’ve tried both outlining and pantsing. Every time I outline first, my finished product never remotely follows that original outline. I’ve discovered that outlining, for me, is a waste of time – except when it comes to the characters, I draw them out in detail before I start writing. I’m a pantser through and through!

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

The Reaper’s Kiss is a steamy multi-POV story about a haunted half-reaper trying to find forgiveness, a bad-ass Naphil out for revenge, and a human trying to atone for the mistakes of her past. They all start out using each other, but somehow achieve acceptance and oneness.

How about some faves of yours?

I love listening to alternative rock (Linkin’ Park, Three Days Grace, Breaking Benjamin to name a few). Green and pink are my favorite colors. And don’t talk to me when the Walking Dead is on or you might lose a cherished body part, especially if Darryl is on screen.

Dale’s current release with Soul Mate, KISS ME DEAD:

KissMeDeadOne curse…
Christian, a nineteen-year-old reaper-human hybrid enslaved to the Other World to harvest souls, earns his freedom by making a bargain with the Goddess of Death. As part of the bargain, he’s been cursed with the kiss of death.

One kiss…
The only way Christian can break his curse is for an angel to kiss him. Willingly. He finds Brooke, a nineteen-year-old descendant of a Naphil whose destiny is to hunt rogue reapers. But she’s hiding, suffocating in a semi-agoraphobic cocoon since witnessing a reaper steal her brother’s soul.

Two destinies…
Christian has found the angel who can break his curse, and the seduction begins. To break her phobia’s hold, Brooke embraces her angelic role and makes it her mission to kill rogue reapers, trying to avenge her brother’s murder. Christian can break his curse by kissing Brooke dead … but will she figure out his game and kill him first?

BUY LINK: AMAZON

Dale, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

Dale is giving away three ebook copies of KISS ME DEAD to three lucky commenters! Just include your email address in the comment you leave to be eligible.

 

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dale’s in the House! Please Welcome Dale Ibitz to the Blogathon!

  1. aliceakemp says:

    Thanks for your post, Dale. Sure wish I could write in the midst of noise and bustle. Makes me crazy, but then that’s a short trip. Your characters sound fascinating. Good luck with Kiss Me Dead. Great title. aliceakemp@gmail.com

  2. larryandkarla says:

    Nice interview Char. Love the book’s title “Kiss Me Dead.” Interesting story line. I think I should tweet this like right now. 🙂

  3. C.D. Hersh says:

    A silver pen in your hand is a very interesting way to get the idea across. Now how many stories are hidden away under the bed? 🙂
    cdhersh@fuse.net

  4. Patty Taylor says:

    Congratulations on your release, Dale. And I love the cover 🙂 I’m right there with you when it comes to finding enough time to write and working full time. I’m looking forward to reading your story!

  5. Dale Ibitz says:

    Thanks for hosting, and all for saying hello!

  6. This is the first interview where editing was noted as being one of the author’s favorite things! Critique partners will be coming out of the woodwork. Great interview!

  7. gailingis says:

    Dale, wonderful interview. Editing is the best part of writing, I agree. Best of luck to you!

  8. lindacovella says:

    Loved Kiss Me Dead! Dale’s writing is vivid, the characters realistic, memorable. I highly recommend any of her books!

Leave a Reply

