Erin’s in the House! Please Welcome Erin Bevan to the Blogathon!

Erin BevanToday I have Erin Bevan at the Blogathon! Erin, tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

There isn’t a ton of fun stuff to tell. I’m a mother of three children. I stay at home with my two youngest, workout at the gym every morning for sanity, and sit in my sweaty workout clothes all day! By the time I get my sons fed lunch and down for their naps, I have a limited amount of time to write. I don’t waste it on a shower!

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Definitely later in life. Mid twenties actually. When I was a child I hated reading. I didn’t develop a love for it until I was twenty.

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

After I took my first writing class on-line through the London School of Journalism. I was living in South Korea at the time and spent most of my days reading. I decided I could write a book, too, so I signed up for an on-line class. After that, I never stopped writing.

How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

Ha! I don’t know if it is what you call complete. A complete piece of crap, maybe! My stories didn’t start coming together until my fourth completed work. What can I say? I’m a slow learner. Just ask my editors!

Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child- and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

I have to have silence. With three kids, you can imagine this is hard to come by. I only get to write during the week, never on the weekends when everyone is home. Also, working out and coffee help the creative juices flowing. If ever I’ve had a week where I don’t exercise, my writing suffers.

What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

Oh goodness. Well, having kids really changes my stories. Most of my stories have women with children. Since I always have one of my kids with me at all times, its super hard for me to separate that from my characters.

Literary Inspiration: throughout your life, what novels have lifted you, made you think, “Someday I want to create something like that . . .”

Well, like I said earlier, I didn’t start reading until I was 20. Something from Nicholas Sparks was the first thing I ever picked up and read because I wanted to. And I balled! Naturally with a NS story. I still strive to write as eloquently as him, but there has never been anything eloquent about me. More recent, I have developed a writer’s crush or a Wromance (Writers Romance) with Tracy Brogan. I laugh and laugh every time I pick up one of her books.

What shining moment in your journey stands out the most as a real turning point for you as a writer?

The day my short story ‘The Ranch Hand’ got picked up by an editor. I only had one more editor to hear back from and I was determined that if this editor said no, I was hanging up writing forever. I remember reading the email. I was sitting on the couch at my in-laws, and the email started out bad. Really bad. I almost hit the delete button, but I kept reading anyway. Glad I didn’t delete the email because a contract was attached. I took that as a sign that I was supposed to keep going.

Five vital things surround you as you create. What are they? What makes them special to you?

Computer
Coffee
Glasses –can’t see without those
More coffee
And, perhaps more coffee

Writers face many time-constraint challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

Children, and no matter what I place them down for a nap at noon. Noon to 2 is mommy’s time.

What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you? What aspects of the writing process do you find most difficult?

Writing the story is thrilling. Especially when the characters really start talking. Not so thrilling is the editing when the editors screams at you in those red comment bubbles to dig deeper into the characters Point of View. Ugh!

How do you begin a story? Do you just sit down with an idea in mind and start writing, or are you a person who wouldn’t dream of starting without a detailed outline, character sketches, and pages of research data?

No, I just write. All that important stuff usually comes much later when things aren’t making much sense in my work in progress and I finally realize an outline or at least a character sketch might my a good way to go.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

Umm. . . a Christmas story with a sexy pilot and a princess. That’s all I’m giving you.

How about some faves of yours?

My favorite coffee drink at Starbucks is a Grande Iced Americano with 2 pumps of Classic and skim milk.
I love lifting weights and spin class.
I love cupcakes which is why I need spin class.
And my favorite store is Pottery Barn and I wish my house looked like a Pottery Barn magazine at all times. (It does not!)

Erin’s current release with Soul Mate, CUPID’S ANGELS:

CupidsAngelsEllie Childs isn’t looking for love. She’s looking for an AC technician for the Forest Wood Senior Center. But, when the repairman happens to be tall, dark, and handsome, he has the goods to make her change her mind. Unfortunately, he’s taken by a blonde Barbie.

David White moved to Cupid, Arkansas, to be closer to the woman he loves, his grandma, and away from his ex-fiancée. Believing his broken heart would never work again, he’s proven wrong. Ellie’s shimmering auburn curls and compassionate nature sends his heart thumping. His mind soars with thoughts of giving love another shot. But as luck would have it, she’s taken, and the guy she’s seeing is a real jerk.

When David’s grandmother sees how perfect Ellie would be for her grandson, she gathers the troops. She and her three friends form Cupid’s Angels. Their mission, to bring David and Ellie together. Despite their best efforts, the Angels’ plans backfire, pushing David and Ellie farther apart and into the arms of others. Or, so they think.

Will the Angels’ good intentions win out, or will their plots and schemes undermine what could have been the love of a lifetime for David and Ellie?

BUY LINK: AMAZON

Erin, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

Want to find Erin?
Links:
http://www.erinbevan.com
Twitter: @ErinBevan
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/erinbevanwrites

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Erin’s in the House! Please Welcome Erin Bevan to the Blogathon!

  1. aliceakemp says:

    I admire your perseverance, Erin. Squeezing in your writing while the little ones are napping isn’t easy. I was in school when mine were young, and the only time I could study was to get up at 4:30 or 5 to work before they were up. I enjoyed Cupids Angels. Good luck with the Christmas story.

  2. Reblogged this on Claire Gem, Author and commented:

    Erin’s novel, Cupid’s Angels, was the perfect choice to take with me on vacation!

  3. Reblogged you, Erin 🙂 on Clairegem.wordpress.com

  4. Madelyn Hill says:

    Your story sounds wonderful!

  5. L.D. Rose says:

    I love spin class and coffee too! 🙂 Great interview, ladies!

  6. I think reading the words, “I’d like to publish your novel,” for the first time, is one of those highlight moments in life. Cupid’s Angels is a sweet name for a book too.

  7. Patty Taylor says:

    Congratulations on your release, Erin! Love the name of your book and looking forward to reading it 🙂 Great interview! I’m with you on the coffee – don’t think I can ever have enough 🙂

  8. Belle Ami says:

    Great interview, I know how hard it is to write with children. I waited until my children were grown to really pursue my craft. Good for you stealing every free moment possible to fulfill your dream. I love the plot of your novel, Cupid’s Angels, the idea of a bunch of grandmothers playing matchmaker is charming. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

