Heather is in the House! Please Welcome H.L. Wampler to the Blogathon!

HL Wampler
Heather, welcome to the Blogathon!

Tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

I’m an average person with a huge imagination. I have wonderful twin boys, an amazing husband, an old-lady dog, and a really fat cat. I have this urge deep inside to tell the world my stories.

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

I’ve been writing since I was a young girl. I remember when I was in 3rd grade there was a writing contest in my school. Of all the entries that were submitted, my principal chose mine as the winner and hung it on his bulletin board for the entire month. That was when I caught the bug, after seeing how happy my story made people.

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

That happened about 6 ½ years ago. I was a stay-at-home mom for a bit after my boys were born and there were days I’d be bored. I’d tell the boys stories and ended up writing them down. My first story though…oh goodness…it is dreadful. I keep it though, as a reminder of where I started and where I am today.

How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

To finish it? Oh it took maybe a month or two. Edits were about six more months. It’s still dreadful.

Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

I don’t really have any habits. As long as there is a story in my mind and a laptop at hand, I can write.

What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

I don’t use much influence from life for my stories. I like to use them as a means of escaping reality. I like to imagine far off places and great feats people can perform and go from there.

Literary Inspiration: throughout your life, what novels have lifted you, made you think, “Someday I want to create something like that . . .”

I absolutely loved The Babysitters Club, The ‘Goosebumps’ book, anything by Stephen King, and the ‘Sweet Valley High’ books to name a few.

Let’s talk about romance. How do you set the mood for your characters, what do you draw from that helps your H/H achieve oneness with each other? And how much conflict do you give them, along the way?

I don’t set the mood. I let my characters do their thing, I just provide the fingers to tell their story.

What shining moment in your journey stands out the most as a real turning point for you as a writer?

Getting my first ‘yes.’ It helped prove that I wasn’t just some wannabe, that I actually may have what it takes to provide amazing stories to people.

Five vital things surround you as you create. What are they? What makes them special to you?

My laptop, it’s where all of my creations are kept. My phone, I store my music there and I love music while I write. Usually a wine glass, I love a good glass of wine as I write. A pen and paper, I tend to jot down ideas while I write if they don’t fit in with the story at the moment or if I get an idea for another story. A lamp. I need lots of light.

Writers face many time-constraint challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

I try not to focus on deadlines. I focus on the writing and let it go at its pace. Now if I have a deadline…I keep going until I finish. Time restraints tend to block my creative flow.

What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

Creating the story. I love watching my worlds and characters develop as my fingers fly over the keyboard.

What aspects of the writing process do you find most difficult?

Editing. It’s such a daunting task.

How do you begin a story? Do you just sit down with an idea in mind and start writing, or are you a person who wouldn’t dream of starting without a detailed outline, character sketches, and pages of research data?

I’m a pantser. I sit down and just let my mind go where it wants. I keep notes of what happens, who’s who, and such.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

I have a few stories I’m working on. One is a historical romance series about assassins. And another is a young adult adventure about a girl trying to find her parents.

How about some faves of yours?

My faves? I love all sorts of music. I’m not super picky. I’m an animal lover. I love em all. If I could I would rescue every cat, dog, bunny, turtle and cow in the world. And all the rest. 90% of my clothes are blue. I love summer and winter. Sitting by the pool when it’s 80 degrees out while my boys do cannon balls is perfect. But I also love sitting in my living room with the windows open watching snow fall with a mug of hot cocoa.

Heather’s debut release with Soul Mate, Cutlass Anne:

cutlassanneAfter setting out to save her sister, Anne Crowley finds herself face-to-face with the notorious John Jacks, the son of a ruthless pirate captain. John Jacks thwarts Anne’s every move yet she finds herself attracted to the infuriating pirate.

Determined to find her sister, and resist the charming John Jacks, Anne and her band of pirates must search the high seas for clues to finding her missing sister before she’s lost forever.

BUY LINK: Amazon:

 

Heather, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Historical Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Heather is in the House! Please Welcome H.L. Wampler to the Blogathon!

  1. aliceakemp says:

    What fun. But surely your twins figure in your stories? And I really wish I could write wherever and whenever the inspiration strikes. I have stickie notes everywhere. Good luck with your first book. Bet there will be many more.

  2. Belle Ami says:

    In my first two books, twin relationships figure importantly. My hero has an evil twin who causes all kinds of havoc in my hero and heroine’s lives. My hero and heroine also have twin children that are important to the plot. Kudos to you, I’m also jealous that you can write while drinking wine, for me it dulls my senses, although, I try once and awhile to attempt it.

  3. Madelyn Hill says:

    Love the blurb on Cutlass Anne

  4. Patty Taylor says:

    Congratulations on your release, Heather 🙂 I love the cover and the blurb. Looking forward to reading this one!

  5. Heather says:

    Thanks everyone! Cutlass Anne was a lot of fun to write. I hope everyone who buys it ends up loving it!

  6. Heather says:

    Reblogged this on H.L. Wampler and commented:
    Hey everyone!

    Today I was hosted over at the SoulMate publishing blog! If you get a chance, check it out!

  7. laynemacadam says:

    Good luck with your new release! Lovely cover!

  8. sueberger3 says:

    loved the interview. Yo are my hero – writing while raising twins. Good luck with sales. I know you don’t need any for coming up with stories.

  9. Beth Carter says:

    Wait. How do you write while drinking wine? I don’t think I could keep it all straight! I do love wine, though.

  10. Heather you are amazing, a story and a laptop and you’re away. Congratulations.

  11. Pokemon X Y Gratuit says:

    I was extremely pleased to uncover this great site.
    I want to to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!!
    I definitely appreciated every part of it and i also have
    you saved as a favorite to look at new information on your site.

Leave a Reply

