Katie O’Boyle’s In the House! Please Welcome Katie to the Blogathon!

Katie O'BoyleKatie’s here at the Blogathon! And she’s doing a giveaway, so stay tuned for that.

Tell us all about you, Katie! What would you most like your readers to know?

It may not be obvious from my Lakeside Porches series of romance novels that, personally, I’m a curious mix of tech savvy, intellectual, and romantic. I’ve developed software, gotten a doctorate, taught North-South-East-and-West, and met wonderful people in my life. While I don’t write about any of the real people I’ve met along the way, there’s no question that aspects of their personalities, stories, passions, dilemmas, and the gifts they’ve shared have found their way into my books, all jumbled and interwoven and shiny new. I have to say that writing books is possibly the most fun and fulfilling thing I’ve done!

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Seriously? For the first ten or twelve years of my life I desperately struggled to read. Forget writing! No one knows how or why, but something finally clicked and I was able to decode the written word. Once I began reading, a whole new world opened up to me. I couldn’t get enough Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew books to satisfy me. It wasn’t long before I wanted to write my own stories and share my thoughts through writing.

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

I had written three or four novels and published books and articles in my professional field (educational technology) for a few decades before I got serious about publishing fiction a few years ago. I’m very fortunate that my first romance (with the working title Manda the Brave) caught Debby Gilbert’s eye. We agreed the title was a pretty darn YA, while the subject (recovery from alcoholism and sexual abuse) was very adult. With a lot of help from my beta readers, a new title emerged— Stepping Up To Love— and a series was born. The “To Love” books will number 4 this October when Waking Up To Love is released by Soul Mate Publishing.

What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

My history includes violence, addiction, and recovery, and you see those themes play out in my villains and heroes, in the context of moving beyond to build a happy, purposeful, loving life. It’s important to me to write messages of hope and compassion. My greatest reward as an author is having a reader say my book helped them see a problem in a different way and come to believe there’s a solution.

Literary Inspiration: throughout your life, what novels have lifted you, made you think, “Someday I want to create something like that . . .”

This question made me chuckle, and I’ll tell you why! I had a wonderful therapist who once said she wanted to write articles for Redbook and Ladies Home Journal and other women’s magazines, rather than for scholarly journals, because those magazines are what women read, not “the literature.” With all due respect to literary fiction, I’ve always been drawn to books of genre fiction, especially mystery and romantic suspense, that embody values like my own. Who inspires me? Authors like Robert B. Parker and Sally Goldenbaum rock. Louise Penny walks on water. Alan Bradley makes me laugh out loud, and I can’t wait for the next Flavia deLuce story. Peter Lovesey’s plot twists and plays on words challenge me to keep learning and growing as an author. And Colin Dexter sets the bar high.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

I’m deep into a very romantic cozy mystery series set in Tompkins Falls, the setting for the Lakeside Porches romances. In fact, Kyle Pennington and Lyssa Doughty, the hero and heroine of book four of Lakeside Porches are the protagonists of the new series. They solve campus murders with brains and class, and many Tompkins Falls characters are important cast members.

Watch for the fourth book in the Lakeside Porches romance series, Waking Up To Love, coming in October! Fall in love with Kyle and Lyssa.

Katie’s current release with Soul Mate, Finding the Way Back to Love:

findingthewaybacktoloveThirty-two-year old Gwen Forrester, Ph.D., gifted psychotherapist and beautiful widow, is stuck in a rut, dating hotties on the fast track, when what she really wants is a life partner who’ll help her raise a family and make a difference in her home town of Tompkins Falls.

New in town, Officer Peter Shaughnessy, thirty, has recovered from the damage he suffered in a drug bust in his hometown of Syracuse, but he’s still smarting from his ex-wife’s betrayal and, before that, the years of abuse from his alcoholic father. When Gwen’s very-pregnant niece Haley trips the security system at Gwen’s lakeside home one moonlit summer night, it’s love at first sight for responding Officer Peter and stunned Aunt Gwen. By joining forces to help Haley, Peter and Gwen discover they’re a good team. Long, exhilarating canoe trips convince them they’re on the same page with their life goals.

Then a destructive squall lands them on the rocks, and a night of stormy passion reveals painful truths that drive them apart. Are they willing to go to any length to find their way back to love?

BUY LINK: AMAZON:

Katie is doing a giveaway! A Kindle e-copy of Finding the Way Back To Love can be won by a lucky commenter. Please be sure to add your email address to your comment in order to be eligible for the giveaway.

Katie, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

Katie’s new blog: http://www.katieoboyle.com

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Contemporary Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Katie O’Boyle’s In the House! Please Welcome Katie to the Blogathon!

  1. I’m so glad to be here today, Char! Looking forward to meeting new friends and catching up with old friends. Summer is closing out too fast for me. How’s everyone handling it?? –katie

  2. aliceakemp says:

    Thanks for an interesting blog. I, too, fell in love with mysteries through the Hardy Boys books. Nancy Drew, not so much. Still my favorite genre. I very much enjoyed your pub, Finding the Way Back to Love. It’s a great story, and I sure it will do great. Good luck

  3. Patty Taylor says:

    enjoyed reading your post, Katie 🙂 and congratulations on your release!

  4. laynemacadam says:

    Thanks for sharing Katie! Best of luck with your book!

  5. I was a late reader. Once words decoded easily I became an instant bookaholic. I wish I read faster because the is so much I want to read.

Leave a Reply

