RB is in the House! Please Welcome RB Austin to the Blogathon!

RB AustinRB, welcome to the Blogathon! Tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

I’m married to a wonderful, supportive, and would-not-be-where-I -am-today-without-him husband. I have a beautiful, most-of-the-time-drives-me-crazy-with-her-teenage-hormones daughter. I work full time as a school secretary at a high school.
I’ve been creating stories most of my life, and my dream is to be able to quit my day job and write full time. Besides writing, I wouldn’t be able to survive without my Kindle Paperwhite and chocolate.

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

I started writing in high school. My first piece was a happy birthday horror story for my best friend.
Characters will act out scenes over and over in my head until I write them down. My muse can sometimes be a relentless bastard. . . . It’s why I love him.  ::smile::

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

In my early twenties, I started writing with the dream of becoming published so other people – besides family and friends – could be taken on the same journey I am when my characters speak to me.

Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

During the pre-writing phase, I can work almost anywhere. While writing, I listen to my book’s soundtrack. It keeps me focused on the characters and their story. If I’m editing . . . you’d better be dying if you dare ignore the giant DO NOT DISTURB sign I have posted on my door.  ::grin::

What shining moment in your journey stands out the most as a real turning point for you as a writer?

Weirdly, it wasn’t when I received my first publishing contract, which when I was an unpublished author it was all I could think about. It was when I received my first review saying they loved my characters just as much as I did, that they couldn’t wait to read the next book. It was the most wonderful, validating experience. Not only do I think I’m a WRITER, but complete strangers do as well. It’s awesome.

Five vital things surround you as you create. What are they?

Chocolate
iPod
Swedish Fish
Windows – The things that let you see outside, not the operating system. 😉
Laptop

What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

I love the pre-writing phase. Discovering all the delicious, intimate details of my characters; learning what makes them squirm; then, figuring out how I can use it to the plot’s advantage. Ha, maybe Muse isn’t the only bastard here . . . 😉
The writing phase is cool, too. Sometimes the characters will veer off from my carefully, constructed plot and take me to places I haven’t dreamed of yet. I just sit back, buckle up, and enjoy the ride.
Then there’s editing. When I tweak and tone a line, a paragraph, or a scene and it’s transformed from mere words on a page to a living, breathing, emoting entity . . . the rush is like no other.
Grr, it’s hard to pick just one.

What aspects of the writing process do you find most difficult?

I do love every aspect about writing, but I have moments of hate, too.
Pre-writing is when my characters begin to live. The process isn’t always gradual. Sometimes they arrive fully formed and immediately start banging on my head, demanding I skip ahead to the writing stage. My explanations of “I’m a plotter not a pantser” seem to go right over their head . . . Or they’re just too impatient to care. This is when I have to put on a pair of internal noise-cancelling headphones in order to complete the stage.
The writing part can be difficult, too. Remember when I mentioned my characters like to take over the story and completely derail the plot? Yeah. It’s fun while it lasts, but in most cases they dump me in a completely foreign place and run away, forcing me to figure out how to get back on course . . . A lot of cursing happens during these moments.
With editing the moments of greatness are, well, great, but the process it takes to get there is long and tedious. It involves less right-brained creativity and more left-brained logic and rules. This is the stage where I keep a stash of headache medicine next to my chair.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

The second book of my Trihune Series, Fallen Darkness, will be out next month. Squee!
I’m currently working on the third book in the series. It has a tentative release date of July 2016.

RB’s debut release with Soul Mate, Fallen Redemption (The Trihune Series, Book One):

fallenredemptionKilling Fallen to save mankind is Cade’s redemption for murder and only one human—mouthwatering and absolutely forbidden—stands in his way.

Cade committed himself to saving lives before he learned the full consequences of his life-altering decision. It wasn’t until he was tending his sick wife that he learned the enormity of what he’d done and he was unable to save her from the monster he had become. Consumed with guilt and praying for absolution, he threw himself into killing every Fallen he could find to save the humans he’d sworn to protect.

But then Emma, deliciously mortal and completely forbidden, swept into his world, stirring an overpowering desire. Now he’s not only fighting soulless creatures, but also his inner cravings, trying to maintain his distance and continue on his path to forgiveness. He won’t lose control again and lose another love.

BUY LINK: AMAZON:

RB, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

Thanks for hosting me. ::smile:: I’d love to connect with you and your readers again. When I’m not writing, I hang out at the following places:

Facebook: fb.me/rbaustinauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/authorrbaustin

Blog: http://www.2unpublishedgirls.com

Website: http://www.rbaustin.com

Goodreads: https://goodreads.com/rbaustin

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/authorrbaustin

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to RB is in the House! Please Welcome RB Austin to the Blogathon!

  1. Pingback: RB: I’m a Guest! | 2unpublishedgirls

  2. This sounds like a fabulous book! I love when passion consumes a character and he or she has to fight their basic instincts! Congratulations!

  3. Loved your most exciting moment. I agree. The moment a reader loves your book enought to wrote a review is awesome.

  4. pandamagick017 says:

    wonderful interview, RB 🙂 And congratulations on your new release! I favor a wee bit of chocolate myself 🙂 Wishing you all the best and looking forward to reading this story!

Leave a Reply

