Patty’s in the House! Please Welcome Patty Taylor to the Blogathon!

Patty TaylorToday, Patty Taylor is visiting the Blogathon!
Welcome, Patty, and take it away!

Good Morning! I’m Patty Taylor and I’m thrilled to be here today with everyone! I write fantasy/paranormal romance with a wee bit of magical lore woven into all my stories. I “love animals”, and enjoy spinning exotic fibers on my spinning wheels where I’ve blended my beloved Samoyeds’(dogs) undercoats with alpaca, sheep and even Angora wool. I’m hoping one day for the opportunity to get my hands on some white wolf undercoat (or any wolf’s undercoat), but that’s another story…

I enjoy centering my adventures in various places like Scotland’s mystical Isle of Skye, the magical Glens of Antrim in Northern Ireland and the secluded wilderness of Alaska – where fairies, brownies, shape-shifters and mythical creatures come to life.

????????????

The person who influenced me the most to pursue my writing, was my beloved Mother, Evelyn V. Taylor. Her own story of how she came to live in the United States and became a citizen of this country has always inspired me. Born and raised in County Down, Northern Ireland, she served in the British Army during WWII where she met and fell in love with my tall and handsome Daddy, a US Sergeant. Soon after they were married, she crossed the ocean by ship by herself, to wait the arrival of my Daddy’s return to the states. I’ll always admire her strength and courage for beginning a new adventure in a strange country with no family of her own, to start a life with the man she fell in love with and raise a family. And with the discovery of my father having American Indian heritage, both cultures have made a huge impact on my imagination.

I inherited her superstitions and respectful beliefs in the wee people and fairies, along with her love for reading and storytelling. Mom was the first to introduce me to the magical world of “The Chronicles of Narnia” by CS Lewis. On my last visit to Ireland, my cousin, Yvonne, took me to see the Wardrobe statue outside the library in Belfast and I even sat in the chair. There were happy tears that morning. As a child, I fell in love with the movies Darby O’Gill and the little People and the adventures of Gulliver’s Travels, along with many other Walt Disney Movies she took me to see. To this day, I still tear up watching the “Quiet Man” – one of my mother’s favorites.

I feel blessed to be fortunate to visit my Mom’s home for the very 1st time in 2010, and got to see the building where my parents first met, the places she took my Daddy to visit and the mystical country where she was raised. Like stepping back in time, my imagination ran wild with the reality of finally seeing the magical qualities of this beautiful and amazing country.

And now, I’m thrilled to share my lovely cover for Mortal Magick, a paranormal/fantasy time travel romance set in the 18th century mystical Isle of Skye. Mortal Magick is the 1st book in my new series called “Highlander Magick.”

Patty’s debut release with Soul Mate, Mortal Magick:

MortalMagicDoomed for eternity to wander nights as half man and half creature, rugged Highlander, Duncan McCord, discovers his curse is the least of his problems when he sets out for a cure and rescues the beauty determined to help tame his beast.

When a reluctant witch, Keara, gets whisked back to 18th century mystical Isle of Skye to learn lessons in magic, she faces the true test of love when she meets the man beyond her wildest dreams burdened with dark secrets from his past.

Forced together to journey through an enchanted country filled with mythical creatures and magical lore, will they survive in a world where evil sorcery reigns, or will a shocking twist of fate tear them centuries apart?

A wee excerpt from the story:

Duncan McCord wanted a woman. His entire body and soul hungered for a special lass’ touch. The one destined for his love, whom he would call kindred spirit. His stomach tightened, a pain ripping through him like the slice of a broadsword. This canna happen. Not now, not ever. Reality hastily slapped him back to his senses. He vowed never to be foolish enough to let himself fall into another vixen’s treacherous traps.

Dark, threatening clouds rolled over Scotland’s glorious mountain peaks in the distance. The muscles in his legs rippled, gripping both sides of his mount. His stallion, Goliath, snorted and stopped short in his tracks. His enormous hooves stomped the hard ground.

One more snippet:

Duncan lunged from the damp forest floor. His splayed hooves clip-clopped on top of a boulder. His nostrils flared from the irresistible lingering lavender scent. He cocked his head to the side, his keen hearing caught her every breath as each step she took brought her dangerously closer. “Aye, the damn fool-headed woman! She’s done wandered off again.”

He snarled at a shooting star plummeting to the ground. Like a bubbling cauldron of fire, it spit an outburst of flames across the moonlit sky. “Aye, the bonny wee lass is headed straight for a trap.” Clenching his fists, he veered back his head and wailed.

BUY LINK: AMAZON:

I’m currently in the process of finishing Sea Wolf Magick, Book two of my “Highlander Magick” series. So please get ready for two magical adventures – Journey across the Mystical Isle of Skye, to the Enchanting land of Fire and Ice….”

Patty, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

I would love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave me comments at:
My Soul Mate author page: https://smpauthors.wordpress.com/meet-patty-taylor/mortal-magick-by-patty-taylor/

Patty’s Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00ZE65O0Q

And visit my website/blog http://www.pattytaylorauthor.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/PattyTaylorAuthor

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Paranormal Romance and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Patty’s in the House! Please Welcome Patty Taylor to the Blogathon!

  1. Patty Taylor says:

    Thanks for having me here today, Char 🙂

  2. Patty Taylor says:

    Thanks for sharing, Neva 🙂

  3. Beautiful photos, especially of your mother. Enjoy your trip! –katie o’boyle

  4. Patty Taylor says:

    Thank you Katie! Yes, my Mum was definitely a beautiful person, both inside and out 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and posting!

  5. Love your family history. Thanks for sharing.

  6. laynemacadam says:

    What a wonderful story! Thanks so much for sharing that!

  7. Patty Taylor says:

    Thank you, Linda 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

  8. Patty Taylor says:

    Thank you, Layne 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading about my family and their true love story 🙂

  9. Karen Rossi says:

    Ah, yes, the Isle of Skye! We visited it years ago and I still use the teatowel we bought with a picture of the grave of Flora McDonald (or was it MacDonand? I don’t want to go look it up, but I know the Scots are very fussy about that!).
    This summer we visited the Faroe Islands and I found them fascinating, too. I’d love to visit all the little islands in the big oceans and learn their history. Now, what characters can I bring to life from the Faroe Islands??? A handsome shepherd like Gabriel Oaks in Far from the Madding Crowd? Hmm…why not?

Leave a Reply

