Samanthya’s in the House! Please Welcome Samanthya Wyatt to the Blogathon!

Samanthya WyattToday at the blogathon I have Samanthya Wyatt!

Welcome, Samanthya! Tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

Hello everyone. I write hot, sizzling romance. Even though my first love is historical, I also write contemporary romance. I signed my first contract with Soul Mate Publishing in 2013. Since then I’ve had three books published and two more coming out this year. After those, I have a Fireman Series planned. Who doesn’t love a hunky fireman? My morning usually starts off with coffee in bed—hmmm, you say. Hubby knows how to deliver a cup of coffee to get my morning started off just right. Then I go to my writing cave and greet the world.

I like to tell everyone Hello, have a great day or paste a hunky picture.hunk day I so love eye candy.

I left my accounting career and married a military man traveling and making a home in the United States and abroad. We settled in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia. I love penning a story with strong characters, a bit of humor, and active scenes. Through years of writing, joining RWA, joining chapters, entering contests, submissions & rejections, I’ve kept my spirit. By turning criticism into drive I’ve achieved the dream of being a published romance author.

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Once I found historical romance novels, I couldn’t put a book down. I had no idea books like that existed. Well, I fell in love with the characters and needed to know their happy ending. Then, one day I decided to give a go of creating a story of my own.

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

I wrote poems and short stories as a child. My own children were in high school before I started writing again. Catherine Coulter was one of my favorite authors. About seventeen years ago, I wrote to her and was amazed that she wrote back. She was very encouraging and told me to join RWA. At that time there was no internet and I did not have luck contacting RWA. (What was that?)
Many years later, I’m in a book store looking at romance books wanting to try a new author. I see the face of a hunk on a book cover and immediately bought that book. Yep, a book cover can make a difference. I’m reading Anna Campbell and – I was hooked! I immediately went back and bought her other two books (which was all she’d written at that time). I contacted her. She’s so nice, and again I was advised to join RWA. I did. That was the beginning on my road to success. A pitch opportunity with Savvy Authors gave me my opportunity with Soul Mate Publishing.

How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

LOL Fourteen years. I had this great story in mind. I put it on a shelf and took it down 14 years later. OMG how bad. I sure learned a lot from workshops. I finished it, whipped it into shape (after all it was my baby). The Right One, my first published book.

Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

I need to be left alone. By that I mean – alone in a room with my laptop and NO interruptions—in order to get any creativity done. But, of course, that does not happen often. I love the TV on the music station, but at times I may find myself singing along. I don’t mind noise. If I get really involved, I tune everything out. But if I have a thought and I’m interrupted, the thought is gone.  So as often as I can, I go to my cubby author cave, and just write.

What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

I married a military man. Years of travel, living in other countries, meeting new people, never knowing where you’re going next, wondering if hubby will make it home, house burning down, leaving friends and loved ones behind—life experiences taught me a lot. Knowledge as well as emotional.
But I love people and I love to make them laugh. My hubby is so silly, his playfulness has rubbed off on me. Anything can come out of my mouth sometimes, just for fun. I’ll say things that don’t make sense, have people raising their eyebrows, or just busting out with laughter. I draw on all of my own experiences when I need emotion in my writing. And I must say my hubby has been the best.

Literary Inspiration: throughout your life, what novels have lifted you, made you think, “Someday I want to create something like that . . .”

Who doesn’t want to have something as classic as Gone With the Wind? There are too many titles and authors who have affected my life for me to name. But I love a good romance. I read one months ago, a 3 book series that frequents my mind quite often. The author had my heart. I was deeply involved with the hero and heroine, so emotionally connected, I still feel passionate about those characters. For one of my books to have that kind of effect on a reader, would be the greatest gift an author could receive.

Five vital things surround you as you create. What are they? What makes them special to you?

Coffee. Calendar. Books. Pen/pencils. Laptop.

Java is the substance of life. LOL. The coffee cup is with me always. I need a calendar to remind me of appointments, blog dates, postings, deadlines, and what day it is—when I get too involved in my MS. I use paper as much as I use my laptop. I jot notes, character sketches, scenes, etc. I have an assortment of paperbacks on the shelf above me—inspiration.

What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

That I’m published. My dream came true. All I ever wanted was to see my book on a shelf in a book store. Everything now is pretty much ebooks. So I’m thrilled to be a part of that. I’ve gained so many friends along my journey. I love being able to chat with people all over the world. I critique for authors, do edits, help promote other authors on my website. I’m so glad to be a part of Soul Mate Publishing.

What aspects of the writing process do you find most difficult?

Time to write. I need hours to actually accomplish anything. My family thinks I have all this free time and plan my day for me. Ha. No thank you. I have a life. But there are constant interruptions. And Marketing is stressful. Trying to figure out how to get my name out there and draw attention to my books.

How do you begin a story? Do you just sit down with an idea in mind and start writing, or are you a person who wouldn’t dream of starting without a detailed outline, character sketches, and pages of research data?

Would you believe most of my ideas come to me at night? When I go to bed, I finally get to unwind, my mind is like turning on the TV.
Oh I just sit down with a pen and paper and start. But before long, I know I need an outline and character sheets. I learned in a workshop how to do a character interview. You need a good idea of who your character is before you can bring him/her alive. Without that character sketch, I might put in the wrong color eyes, or another trait. Doing that sheet first makes the life of a writer a whole lot easier.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

Oh Goodie. Book 3 in my One and Only Series. Release date in September.

A dangerous lord’s warning sparks devastating results:
One impulsive kiss to prove the young girl flirted with danger shakes Giles’ firm resolve, causing him to flee. Tormented with longing for the woman who branded his very soul, he returns to claim the love he’d carelessly thrown away.

A girl’s determination triggers a woman’s desire
From the first moment Alexandria saw the duke she decided he would be hers. A feisty girl seduces the lord with a woman’s passion determined to get the man she wants.

How about some faves of yours?

I just returned from a cross country USA vacation. My favorite part, driving up the California Coast. Of course I had to stop at every Hard Rock Café I could find and pick up their Logo charm for my Hard Rock charm bracelet. And guess what I found. A new favorite drink.

samanthya1Big Kahuna Blue. Did I mention BLUE is my favorite color?
I would love to ski, jump from an airplane, all the things I should have done at a much younger age. Love roller coasters – the faster the better – but those days are gone. Love to go to the beach, read a book, take walks, crochet. I just watch my grandkids and love doing it.

Ever since I can remember, I loved curling up with a good book. Now, I get a lot of joy from writing one—creating new characters and bringing them together in a romantic tale.

Keep the Spirit !

 

Samanthya’s current release with Soul Mate, The True One, Book Two in the ONE AND ONLY Series:

Will the passion they share be enough? He must choose—her or revenge.

samanthya4Captain Stephen Radbourn accepts an intriguing proposition which results in horror. His ship in splinters and his men captured, he is a broken man. A band of rebels rescue their leader from a dungeon, taking the near dead captain with them. Fearing capture and thinking the tortured man will die, they leave Stephen in the care of a woman, who he believes is an angel of mercy. A man of passion, with a trail of satisfied maidens to prove it, he finds his heart captured by the lovely widow.

Jennifer Faircloth departed England full of a young girl’s fantasies of romance and adventure. Her young husband dies leaving her a widow to survive alone in a foreign land.

When a near death English captain is dropped at her door, memories emerge of the family she foolishly left behind. While caring for him, her curious imagination turns to an overwhelming awareness she cannot deny. He must flee for his life and he takes her with him—back to England—back to the family she’d deserted. She wants her family to forgive her, but she wants Stephen’s love even more.

Enjoy an excerpt:
Warmth flowed from his hand smoldering her skin. Tingles of awareness attacked her senses. How long it had been since she’d been touched by a man. Still, she’d never felt such heat, such burning intensity. Her response shook her.

“If you can’t talk, it will be through no fault of mine.” Not if she could control the trembling he stirred within.

“You’re a feisty one, aren’t you?” He released her hand and leaned back. “I like that.”
It took every ounce of will to concentrate on her task and not his words. The man leered at her. There was no other word for it. His eyes watched her every move. Trying her best to ignore him—which was near impossible—she carefully scraped the hair from his jaw. Determined not to meet his eyes, she willed her fingers to be steady and not scar the man for life. Although, he currently presented a great number of scars.

She held her breath and then slowly released it after each scrape. Her chest hurt from nervous tension. Sending her mind elsewhere, she drew upon her memories of other times she’d done this. Pretending Stephen was her husband only sent more heat to her center, so she halted that line of thinking immediately. The two men were as different as night and day.

A ship’s captain. His size and his words hinted at the power he must have possessed before he’d been beaten and starved. Energy surrounded him as if he was a man who knew what he wanted and would stop at nothing to get it. Somehow she didn’t think he would need to use brute force. His fierce scowl was intimidating enough.

His features were somewhat handsome, not pretty like the dandies in London. Yet she found him incomparable. His green eyes, sharp and daring, pierced, and captivated her on contact. A sense of command in his dangerous gaze, then his eyes had gone soft, and he managed what could pass for a charming smile, considering the split lip on his handsome, swollen mouth. His full lips.

She mentally gave herself a good shake. Experience had taught her of men and their dominance over women. She may be attracted to his body, but she would never be vulnerable to a man again.

Somehow she managed to scrape his whiskers leaving his throat intact. She had no idea how she kept her fingers from trembling.

When she met his gaze, the devil’s eyes twinkled. He knew his disturbing effect on her.

The scoundrel.

“I’ll empty this bowl and bring you fresh water for a bath.”

“Now that sounds like a fine idea.”

When she returned with a pail of water, his smirking grin was back in place.

“You can wash yourself.”

“How am I supposed to do that? My muscles are overwrought from having a shave. Never had a woman shear me before. Drained the energy right out of me.”

She would never admit, to him or herself, that the idea of running a cloth over his nude body sounded delectable.

“Very well.” She gave a little huff to disguise her inner emotion. She wrung the cloth and started on his shoulder.

“You don’t have to scrub the hide off me. I have very little left.”

She softened her movements. Two could play at this game.

Unsure of her hasty decision, and ignoring any thought of changing her mind, she caressed his muscles as she drew the cloth in circles. She’d never done anything so outrageous before. Her fingers slowed as she moved across his chest, making sure she covered every devilish inch.

Again, she dipped the cloth in the pan of water and wrung the excess. Her eyes fastened on springy, auburn curls glistening with moisture. She tried to swallow. Realizing she sat there with a stupefied look on her face, she glanced up to meet his all-knowing gaze.

Good Lord, she’d never had a man look at her so. His green eyes electrified her. While staring into their depths, his irises darkened. The breath caught in her lungs. She dropped the cloth.

The sound of the light plop jerked her attention. “Oh.” She quickly recovered, wrung the cloth again, and rinsed away any remaining soap on his mantle of fur. Recalling his early statement, and mindful of his ribs, she eased the cloth down his torso, and lower.

Her eyes caught on the sheet just below his . . .

The linen lifted.

BUY LINK: AMAZON:

Samanthya, thanks so much for visiting with us today!

Thank You. I enjoyed being here.
Please visit my website for updates and current works: http://www.samanthyawyatt.com

I invite you to lay the worries of the world off your shoulders and get lost in the pages of a romance, where you embark on a journey with the hero and heroine, become involved in a dream, plunge into a world of fantasy, and live an adventure your heart can share.

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Historical Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Samanthya’s in the House! Please Welcome Samanthya Wyatt to the Blogathon!

  1. Congratulations! I too dream my books, scenes within them, encounters, characters, it’s as if I’m caught in a spell. Good luck, it looks like a rollicking good read.

  2. Patty Taylor says:

    Congratulations on your release, Samantha! love the cover 🙂

  3. Karen Rossi says:

    Sounds exciting! Good luck with the series!

Leave a Reply

