Susan’s in the House! Please Welcome Susan Hanniford Crowley to the Blogathon!

Susan waiting-in-line-for-the-masquerageToday I’ve got Susan Hanniford Crowley at the Blogathon! And she’s doing a giveaway, so stay tuned for that.
Welcome, Susan! Tell us all about you! What would you most like your readers to know?

Hi! I’m Susan Hanniford Crowley, author of Vampire King of New York. Writing about King Max and his quest for true love was a blast. Max is handsome and regal in a good way, but he sometimes makes mistakes, funny ones.

Little girls attacking or protecting their PeteOn a personal note, I love dogs and cats. My dog Pete died a few months ago. He was fifteen and a half and we still miss him terribly. He raised our two kitten sisters Bella and Buffy. They were found by a rescue group abandoned in a box on a city street and were feed with eyedroppers. They miss Pete too. They used to hug and kiss and bounce all over him. He was a very amiable guy.

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and ideas flitting through your mind, or did your interest develop later?

I started writing formally when I was 8. One of my first poems were published in a local newspaper when I was 16. From there I was writing all kinds of things from radio and television commercials to short stories in science fiction and fantasy.

When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin writing your first romance novel?

Smiles. I was serious when I sent in my poem to a newspaper when I was 16. I am a crossover author from science fiction and fantasy. An author friend of mine said to me at a convention in 2005, “I’ve read your works and you’re really a paranormal romance author.” I went to the bookstore and bought 6 paranormal novels, and I realized that I was ‘home’. I started writing paranormal romance and have been having fun ever since.

How long did it take you to complete your first manuscript? Did it fly from your fingertips, or did the story emerge slowly?

I dream all my books. Some books are all from one dream. Others come from weeks of dreams. Then I have to fill in the between spots. The first was a novella and it came from one dream. Vampire King of New York came from a month of dreams. Then came the research. I think it took me about 7 months to write the first draft.

Tell us about your writing process. Soft lights and music? White noise? Child-and-pet confusion? Locked in a room alone? What sets your writing mood and pushes you forward?

I dream. When I wake, I write as fast as I possibly can. I write in bed. I write on my sofa. Sometimes family is around me. Sometimes I’m alone. When I go to a conference, I’ll write in the hotel room. When I lock into the story I’m writing, the world goes around me but I’m there in the story like an unseen character watching everything unfold. I know what’s in the minds and hearts of the characters. The hardest part is choosing all the important parts to put in.

What are some life experiences that have infiltrated your stories?

I spent many summers in New York visiting an aunt as I grew up, and some of that feel in is Vampire King of New York. I love walking in Battery Park. I’m very familiar with King Max’s home territory of Manhattan. I’ve also been to Iceland where the book begins.

Five vital things surround you as you create. What are they? What makes them special to you?

A journal. A pen. Either a dragon statute or wearing a dragon shirt. Slippers. My laptop. A 3-ring binder. I tend to write between the laptop and the journal. If I get stuck in one place, I move to the other and the flow picks up where it left off. I love dragons. I find them very inspirational. I write wearing slippers most of the time. That’s why I put slippers in my bag when I go to a convention. My writing pen of choice is the Uni-ball Deluxe Finepoint. I love the feel of that pen in my hand. I also collect unusual pens and journals. I print out the book as I finish 50 pages at a time. Then I edit whenever I get a lull in the writing.

Writers face many time-constraint challenges. What are some of yours? What do you do to overcome them?

I am the care provider for three family members, and I work part-time three days a week in addition to being an author. I make lists for everything. I write down deadlines and appointments on a calendar. I set my phone alarm to all my deadlines with advance warnings. I also always carry something in my purse to write wherever I am. I doesn’t matter if it’s a small notebook with a pen. I can’t let the words escape when they are flowing. I have at time used a small voice recorder to capture a scene or capture. Even when I’m ill, I’m in bed with a journal or my laptop.

What is the most thrilling aspect of the writing process for you?

I love waking up in the morning and knowing I have a new book. Currently there are 3 books in line behind the one I’m currently writing.

What aspects of the writing process do you find most difficult?

Writing fast enough and getting everything down is the most difficult. I dream more than I can possibly write in a day.

Tell us a little about what you’re currently working on.

I’m currently working on the second book in the Arnhem Knights series. It’s the story that belongs to Noblesse, King Max’s daughter. She’s had two major heartaches in her 200 plus years of being undead. Prior to her becoming a vampire, her mother disappeared in Paris just before the French Revolution. She never found out what happened to her. In addition, Noblesse has never been in love. She would love to find her lifemate. Two men claim to love her, and well, it’s a problem. Both have lied to her. One wants to destroy her and the other wants to love her forever, but which one? Even then will she ever find out what happened to her mother? These are questions she needs answered.

I love this book already because it gives a different view of Noblesse from the business woman who is her father’s bodyguard in Vampire King of New York. It takes a more personal look at Noblesse. The Arnhem Knights play an important roles, as Noblesse is also a knight. You really get to know them, and it’s very much part of a larger family saga of the Royal Family of vampires, the Vander Meers of New York.

How about some faves of yours?

I have so many faves. Cool dark nights. Lightning. Dogs. Cats. My family. My granddaughter. I’m multi-national in ancestry. I found out a few years ago that my great-grandfather Alexander Kennedy was a Scotsman and related to the Clan Kennedy of Culzean Castle in Scotland. How cool! I even visited the castle a few years back as a tourist, but I didn’t know my Scottish lineage at the time. It’s gorgeous.

I write to have fun and my only goal is for my readers to have fun too.

Susan’s debut release with Soul Mate, Vampire King of New York:

VampyreKingOfNewYorkMax Vander Meer, is a modern day Viking, CEO of VMeer Industries, and a Vampire. He makes a plea to the Goddess Freya to find the only woman who can heal his heart, the woman haunting his dreams. But, the Goddess strikes a bargain with him. To find this special woman, Max must return to the city he helped build–New York, which is threatened by an ancient terror. When he meets Evelyn, he is astounded. Could she be the one who inhabits his dreams? But Evelyn is haunted by loss and betrayal. How can Max win her love when she doesn’t trust him as a man, and she doesn’t want to be a vampire? If Max returns to Iceland without her, he will be encased in ice . . . forever!

 

BUY LINK: AMAZON:

Susan, thanks for visiting with us today!

Susan’s Website: http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com

Susan is giving away a signed copy of Vampire King of New York to one lucky commenter! To be eligible, please include your email address in your comment.

About charchaffin2011

Writer and Senior Acquiring Editor
This entry was posted in 2015 August Blogathon, Paranormal Romance, Soul Mate Publishing, Susan's Snippets! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Susan’s in the House! Please Welcome Susan Hanniford Crowley to the Blogathon!

  1. lorih824 says:

    Great post! I enjoyed the interview. This is a new author for me and I’m looking forward to reading her book 🙂
    lorih824 at yahoo dot com

  2. I loved the interview. I, too, am an animal lover and have an old woman dog of fifteen. I’m not a paranormal writer, but I love the genre and especially love people like Anne Rice. Susan Eble writing as Viola Russell.

Leave a Reply

