Quirky People Make Unique Characters

file2261236093700Do you know people you would consider quirky? Co-workers, family members, your spouse? Maybe you’re the quirky person. Goodness knows I have my fair share of quirks. I can’t stand it when a picture is crooked. I can be stretched out on the sofa bingeing on my favorite show, but that cattywampass photo of the sunset I took two years ago? Must. Be. Straightened.

I also can’t abide a messy stack of papers, be they stapled or otherwise. If they’re stapled, I have to pluck out the staple, straighten the pages and restaple them.

Oh, and I hang my clothes in the closet by color. So my white blouses are hung together, my red blouses, my blue blouses, and so forth. And my shoes are stored by style: pumps, sandals, flats, flip-flops, well, you get the idea. I know — I’m weird.

I think all people have quirks, although some of us have more than others. Quirky people make unique characters. Your hero or heroine’s idiosyncrasies can make him or her memorable, interesting. Maybe she only likes red M&Ms. Or your hero has to eat the green ones first, before he can eat the other colors. She might not like her food touching, while he can’t eat mashed potatoes without gravy on top.

Millie, the heroine in my soon-to-be-released Dreams of Her Own, doesn’t use the typical swear words or phrases. Instead, she uses great romantic couples from history and literature. Something startles her, she blurts, “Darcy and Elizabeth!” She gets frustrated and out pops a “Romeo and Juliet!”

I shared my quirks, now it’s your turn. What about you? What quirks do you have? What quirks do your characters have?

About Rebecca Heflin

I've dreamed of writing romantic fiction since I was fifteen and my older sister snuck a copy of Kathleen Woodiwiss' Shanna to me and told me to read it. Now I write women's fiction and contemporary romance under the name Rebecca Heflin. In case you're wondering, Rebecca Heflin is an abbreviated version of my great-great grandmother's name: Sarah Anne Rebecca Heflin Apple Smith. Whew! And you wondered why I shortened it. When not passionately pursuing my dream, I am busy with my day-job at a large state university or running the non-profit cancer organization my husband and I founded. I'm a member of Romance Writers of America (RWA), Florida Romance Writers, RWA Contemporary Romance, Savvy Authors, and Florida Writers Association. My mountain-climbing husband and I live at sea level in sunny Florida.
This entry was posted in According to Rebecca. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quirky People Make Unique Characters

Leave a Reply

