E-Rovin with Anne

Food for Thought

Write what you love. I’ve heard that advice from experienced authors many times at meetings and conferences. But, the problem is that I loved lots of genres. I was asked at a conference by a veteran author, what genre do I write. I replied that I write historical, contemporary and young adult romance. She told me to pick one and go with that and develop my brand. I didn’t listen.

I have written one full length historical romance and a novella. I have written two full length contemporary romance novels with a twist of suspense. And I have written three young adult mystery romance novels. I love all three genres that I write in. I can’t pick just one. It would make my life a whole lot easier, but I wouldn’t feel fulfilled and happy with my writing.

The fun part of my contemporary romance novel, First Date is that my main character opens a bakery in a small town. I wrote many scenes where she is baking various desserts. I’ve started to bake some of the dessert that Andrea makes for her bakery. My family likes when I do this kind of research for my book.

Andrea Waggoner the main character from First Date in chapter one while pondering her life she makes a batch of pumpkin muffins. The following is Andrea’s recipe. They’re delicious.

muffins

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups of all purpose flour                                      1 cup brown sugar

½ cup rolled oats                                                         1 cup white sugar

4 tsp pumpkin pie spice                                               2/3 cups coconut oil

2 tsp baking soda                                                        3 eggs

1 tsp baking power                                                      1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp salt                                                                      15 oz. can pumpkin puree

Streusel Topping:

½ c brown sugar

4 tbsp butter softened

3 tbsp oats

5 tbsp flour

Directions: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

  1. In a small bowl combine the first 5 ingredients.
  2. In a medium bowl combine the next five ingredients- blend well.
  3. Stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture and mix well.
  4. Pour the batter into a prepared muffin tin. (makes 24 muffins)
  5. Make the topping. Combine the butter and brown sugar. Add in the oats and flour using a fork until crumbly.
  6. Sprinkle the topping on the muffins.
  7. Bake in preheated oven until tooth pick comes out clean. About 20-25 minutes
About Lawson Novels

Author of Historical and Contemporary Romance novels
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to E-Rovin with Anne

  1. Good luck in your writing journey! Hopefully one of your genres will net you a best seller!

  2. I love it that you’re writing multiple genre! The muffins sound delicious, especially with oats as one of the ingredients. Thanks for the recipe 🙂 –katie o’boyle

  3. I like the concept of having a character doing an occupation that you yourself want to do more of. A museum tour guide. Travel writer. Scuba diver. If you’re going to research an occupation, might as well be something you look forward to doing.

Leave a Reply

