Chocolate Gravy

 

1866November – the weather, the time change, the upcoming holidays, the Facebook gratitude challenges. It’s the time of year when most people get nostalgic and  snuggle in for comfort food.

One of my favorites is chocolate gravy. Yes.   Chocolate. Gravy.   Several of my friends think I’m nuts.  I just think they haven’t tried it yet.

When I was younger, my grandmother used to make us chocolate gravy and biscuits for breakfast when we spent the night.  So it brings back all those great childhood memories with the woman who shared my love of reading and introduced me to romance novels.

I hadn’t thought of it in years. Then, last month, I was at a writing retreat with a friend, and the diner served chocolate gravy.  I was a little kid all over again.

I’ll go home for Thanksgiving, and one of my favorite stops will be to visit my grandmother, who is now in a nursing home. We’ll do the crossword puzzle and talk about books. But now she gets to ask me, “when is your book coming out? Remember to bring me a copy – large print.”

That makes me happier than anything. Even chocolate gravy.

I hope each of you has a wonderful holiday season visiting the people you love and eating your favorite foods. And don’t forget to read a good book – or three or four.

Mia 

Find me at:
WebsiteFacebook | Twitter

 

 

About Mia Kay

I am the author of Soft Target, published by Carina Press.
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Gravy

  1. kathybryson says:

    “Recipe?” she asked hopefully. 😉

  2. Beth Carter says:

    Yum. This sounds so intriguing. Thanks for the fun post.

Leave a Reply

