A Glimmer Of An Idea For A Story

The Write Word with Wareeze

The glimmer of an idea

 

Hello readers. Thanks for allowing me to share a few moments of your time with another glimpse into the world of a writer. Someone recently asked ‘where do you find ideas for your stories’? I imagined other might be interested in my answer. I hear something in the news on the radio, or read an article in a paper, or even watch the news on TV. A bare glimmer of an idea seeps into my imagination. When the idea sparks, I take the embers and fan the flames into a story.

I write period romance, mostly Regency. In my first novel, Conduct Unbecoming of a Gentleman, Adron sought only to protect and save his ward from being taken to a dangerous country by a careless mother. Was he a villain? Some thought so and hated him completely. Laurel was the heroine and fought to remain in her child’s life.

The spark for CONDUCT UNBECOMING OF A GENTLEMAN:

The spark ignited: I watched a young lady in the news fight for her child, against all odds. She even went so far as to dumpster dive for enough food. She didn’t seek help because she was afraid the authorities would take her child. I admire someone with enough fortitude to survive and take care of a child as well. No abandoning a much loved child merely for convenience sake. None of that ‘I can’t’ stuff. Thus: Laurel faces a dilemma. The story revolves around what she does to save her child and herself from total ruin.

Soul Mate Publishing

In my second novel An Enduring Love, Born and raised in Latvia, Rebecca marries Rhys Sudduth, an English diplomat. Shortly thereafter, he is summoned home to attend his father’s death-bed. Rebecca cannot accompany him at the time and becomes trapped in the turmoil plaguing her country. He is informed she died in the upheaval.

Nearly four years later, she escapes and arrives in London with their son in tow. Arriving in the middle of his sister’s ball is very awkward, especially since Rhys plans to announce his betrothal to a young debutante later in the evening.

Trouble, tangled in suspense and danger, follow her from Latvia. Can this pair ever find or even recognize an enduring love? Is it worth keeping?

The spark for AN ENDURING LOVE:

The flickering of a flame—spark: Another news article. A woman married a widower with a child. She was divorced with a child of her own. They married after a courtship where she fell in love. She thought he loved her too, would always love her as she loved him. One fateful morning, she could tell something was amiss. She asked him what was wrong. How devastating to discover, he missed his wife (the departed one, not her). What a blow. How could she ever recover? What should she do?

The only thing she could do was to square her shoulders and try to change the situation in her favor. It took fortitude in abundance to face such a struggle. No fainting and falling back in it for her. No indeed.

 

 

Soul Mate Publishing

In my third novel coming Dec 16, 2015, A Lady’s Vanishing Choices, Bethany witnesses a stranger in the act of burying a bundle large enough to hold a corpse. She flees, but danger follows her. There is no one to tell. Lord Rivton is looking for a traitor. He must investigate her family. How can she convince him she is neither demented, nor a traitor before the villain catches up with her?

The spark for A LADY’S VANISHING CHOICES:

This spark stayed in the recesses of my mind for years: This tale is even more bizarre than the others. When I was a young child, a friend of my dad’s stopped by our house. No one thinks a child of five or so is paying any attention, but I had my antenna up. The friend was vastly upset and his story came pouring out. Seems this friend and two or three other guys along with a few women were camped out on the beach at Galveston. They drank and caroused for a few days, nearly a week of heavy drinking. Earlier on the last morning, the campers woke only to discover one of the women had died during the night. They buried her body there on the beach and scuttled away like so many crabs rushing back into the sea.

My dad tried to talk his friend into going to the police, but the fellow was afraid he’d be blamed for the incident. He was the one that brought the women with him to the party. He wouldn’t report the incident. When hurricane, IKE, hit Galveston, so much was destroyed. During the rebuilding, a skeleton of a female was discovered and reported on the news. It was believed the remains had been in the ground for fifty years or better. I thought it must have been the same woman. I remembered! SPARK, SPARK.

Soul Mate Publishing

I hope you found the genesis of each of my stories as interesting as I found the spark. Until next time, have a wonderful day.  Visit my website: www.wareezewoodson.com

With appreciation,

Wareeze

About wareeze

I am a native of Texas and still live in this great state. I write period romance tangled with suspense. I married my high school sweetheart, years and years ago. We raised four children and have eight grandchildren, and grandchildren are Grand. At the moment, all my children and my grandchildren live within seventy miles of our home, lots of visits. My husband and I still love each other after all these years the stuff romance is made of, Happy Ever After! I lost my beloved husband on Dec 10, 2016 but my memories remain forever Happy Ever After!!
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Glimmer Of An Idea For A Story

Leave a Reply

