The Hardest Part

When people find out you’re a writer, they immediately switch from casual social interaction mode to quiz-the-writer mode. “How do you manage to focus on one thing long enough to write a book? I could never do that. I tried to write a book one twenty years ago, but gave up after one chapter.”

I find that’s the most common question (followed closely by, “I’ve written something; can you read it and give me your comments?”). For many non-writers, the sheer magnitude of effort required is the hardest part. But a least past of that is because they are standing at the foot of the mountain looking up at the daunting task ahead.

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. You write a novel the same way: one scene at a time.

I never met an actual writer that thought focus was the hardest part. You’re caught up in this great story idea you have and by the time you realize that it’s a lot of work, you’re halfway up the slope.

“Ugh. Editing. I love writing the first draft. But editing kills me. I keep finding myself back on social media, hoping for something amusing to break the tedium.”

That sounds more like a lot of the writers I know. Particularly those who blow their way through NaNoWriMo and end up with 50,000 words of which 20,000 may be useful. NOT that I’m poo-poo’ing learning to turn off your internal editor that NaNoWriMo teaches. But editing uses a different part of your brain than creating that edgy first draft. More disciplined. A lot of writers eschew discipline, equating it to less fun.

Not successful writers, of course. Editing has a beauty all its own. And the sooner one comes to grips with that, the more joyful the entire writing process will be.

“Marketing.” Well, yes. Of course. We all hate marketing. But that’s beyond the scope of this modest exploration into the writing process.

Although it’s not totally unrelated to my answer. The hardest part for me is (mild drum roll, please) writing the damned blurb. It’s supposed to be witty and engaging and capture the essence of the book in very few words so that anybody who reads it can’t wait to buy the book. But it’s not fiction, which means your characters can’t help. I know. I’ve asked.

“C’mon, we’ve been pals for this entire novel. Can’t you at least give me some thoughts for this freaking blurb?”

(utter silence)

how-to-eat-an-elephant

And yes, I know. Write it BEFORE you write the book. Yeah, yeah.

 

This entry was posted in On The Blog Rhoad With Rusty!, Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Hardest Part

  1. Susan in TX says:

    Before. Before is good. But the Before Blurb helps the writing process more than the marketing. By the time one gets to The End, the original blurb is OTE . . . OverTaken by Events.

  2. I also struggle with the blurb and wait until the end. Love the elephant on a plate. 🙂

  3. I must be weird, but as much as I love writing the first draft, I get even more wrapped up in fine tuning it. For me, the editing process is where I polish the silver, so to speak. Then when I step back and take a look at each paragraph individually, it thrills me when I can see it shine. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Commented, Fb’d, & Tweeted

Leave a Reply

