A Puppy for Christmas

 Catherine’s Cup of Tea…   Mojee-12-10-2015jpeg

This year, I am way ahead of the holidays. I had all my gifts bought by Thanksgiving—and wrapped or bagged. I got my Christmas cards into the mail on the first of December. I cleared my desk so I could enjoy more play and less writer’s work.

And then—

A week later, I bought a 7-month-old, Schnauzer-Bishon Frise, female puppy and named her Mojee.

Okay, my husband and I thought after losing our Rough Coat Jack Russell two years ago we could do without a dog, and we said we didn’t need any pets.

But the house seemed especially empty this fall, and we decided we should get a small dog. I told my husband I was not going to take just any dog. I wanted a “dust-mop, barks-a-lot.” Decades ago, I’d had a little mutt, a lap-dog like that. So, I visited the websites of ten counties worth of dog shelters, humane societies, and even rescue groups, but no dog met my requirements. I watched the local newspapers for pet ads, checked with my veterinarian’s office for leads, and let neighbors, friends, relatives, and acquaintances know what I was looking for.

And then, when I was at my dentist’s for a checkup, I spotted the Pittsburgh newspaper and saw it had a column’s worth of dog and puppy ads (all ready for holiday gift giving). Unfortunately every ad I called turned out to be for those toy-sized dogs weighing in at under five pounds. I wanted a dog around twenty-five pounds.

To make a long story shorter, the usual happened. The last ad I called, the lady had one of the little toy dogs but she asked me what I was looking for. After I gave her the criteria, she said she had two that might suit me, and both would mature around 18 pounds. She sent pictures. I liked what I saw. My husband and I drove two and a half hours and were taken with the merry personality of the cross-bred, which I bought and we took home.

As cute as Mojee is, there’s still plenty of puppy in her—which is evidenced by her penchant for flipping every scatter rug (we have hard wood floors), leaving “trip-traps” about (her doggy toys), and raiding my office trash can to shred any piece of paper she can get her little teeth on.

My day now requires time outs for walks, potty breaks, and playing with a puppy. It’s time outs for snuggles and belly rubs. It’s time outs to watch Mojee discover her new world with me.

I’ve never gotten a puppy for Christmas. I guess there’s a first time for everything. Mojee is a dust-mop of joy for the season!

To all who celebrate it, I wish you a Merry, Merry Christmas,

Catherine & Mojee    Mojee 12-14-2015

# # #

About Catherine McLean

Author, Writing Instructor, Workshop Speaker. Home Web page for Readers is www.CatherineEmclean.com and for Writers it's www.WritersCheatSheets.com *** SPECIAL NOTE: My novel, Karma and Mayhem, earned a Night Owl Top Pick Review! ***
This entry was posted in Soul Mate Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Puppy for Christmas

  1. Hi Catherine, Mojee is adorable. I can’t imagine my house without my furry friends. May your share many years of love and friendship with your new Christmas pup.
    Merry Christmas,
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami
    The One (The Only One) #1
    The One & More (The Only One) #2
    Coming 2016 – One More Time is Not Enough (The Only One) #3
    http://bookshow.me/TheOne
    http://bookshow.me/TheOneAndMore
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/belle.ami.96?fref=ts
    Twitter: @BelleAmi5
    Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/belleami96/
    Website: http://belleami.us

  2. Thank you, Tema, and may you have a Happy Christmas with your pets.

Leave a Reply

