Are You Keeping Up?

24646207_sTechnology has shaped language,  introducing new words and altering the meaning of well-known words. While many of us are aware of the differences between tablets and laptops, texting and e-mailing, websites and blogs, we may not be too familiar with more subtle linguistic changes.

To mark the occasion of its 20th birthday, Dictionary.com has compiled a list of words whose meanings have changed in the past two decades.

How many of these meanings do you recognize?

Bump

To move an online post to the top of a list by adding a new comment or post to the thread.

Block

To prevent someone from contacting you on Twitter or other social networks.

Canoe

A twitter conversation that has picked up too many user names for an actual conversation to take place.

Catfish

A person who sets up a false personal profile on a social networking site for fraudulent or deceptive purposes.

internetsymbols2Cloud

Parts of the Internet that allow online processing and storage of documents and data.

Firehose

A very large stream of data.

Footprint

A unique set of characters or actions that leaves a trace and serves as a means of identification.

Friend

To add a person to one’s lists of contacts on a social-networking site.

internetsymbols2Follow

To subscribe to a person’s updates on social media.

Handle

Your screen name. i.e. The name you go by on the Internet.

Like

To indicate enjoyment, interest, or agreement with content on social media.

Meme

A cultural item in the form of an image, video or phrase that is spread via the Internet.

internetsymbols2Ping

To contact someone by sending a brief electronic message, such as a text message.

Profile

Personal details, images, and other items associated with a username or online account.

Sandbox

An environment in which software developers or editors can create and test new content, separate from other content in the project.

Swipe

Move the fingers across a touch screen.

internetsymbols2Tablet

A general-purpose computer contained in a touch screen panel.

Tag

To link to someone else’s profile in a social media post.

Text

To send a message.

Timeline

A collection of online posts or updates associated with a specific social-media account, in reverse chronological order.

internetsymbols2Troll

A person who starts arguments or upsets people on the Internet.

Tweet

A short message posted on the Twitter website.

Unplug

Refrain from using digital or electronic devices for a period of time.

Viral

Becoming very popular by circulating from person to person, often through the Internet.

internetsymbols2My score – 21/24

New meanings (for me)  – Canoe, firehose, sandbox

 

About Joanne Guidoccio

After retiring from a 31-year teaching career, I launched my second act as a writer. My articles, book reviews and short stories have been published in newspapers, magazines and online. Soul Mate Publishing will release my debut novel, Between Land and Sea, in the fall of 2013.
This entry was posted in What's Up With Joanne! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Are You Keeping Up?

  1. My husband is English, so I have to learn all the different meanings to words and phrases to he says too on top of all the tech terms. It’s a lot to take in!

  2. Oh, man. 21 of 24? Think I might have known half. Guess I need to up my game. Or not.

    • Hi Rusty, I must confess…I taught computer studies during the 1990s. I recall learning a whole new lexicon – ROM, RAM, CRT, etc. I still try to keep up with all the terminology. 🙂

  3. I didn’t feel too idiotic with these words but I have to say that in terms of keeping up with all the different social media networking sites I feel very much overwhelmed. 🙂

    • Hi Carol, I agree. Keeping up with the terminology is much easier than embracing all the social media sites. My favorites – Twitter and LinkedIn. I have a presence on FB, Pinterest and Goodreads. As for Google+, Instagram, and the rest…Maybe someday. 🙂

  4. I try, but it is always a challenge to stay current with all of the new phrases, technology, social media, and shortcuts of the virtual world. I read all of the above, very informative.
    Thanks,
    Tema Merback

    Writing as Belle Ami
    The One (The Only One) #1
    The One & More (The Only One) #2
    Coming 2016 – One More Time is Not Enough (The Only One) #3
    http://bookshow.me/TheOne
    http://bookshow.me/TheOneAndMore
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/belle.ami.96?fref=ts
    Twitter: @BelleAmi5
    Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/belleami96/
    Website: http://belleami.us

  5. Commented, Fb’d & Tweeted

  6. I knew more than I thought I would. Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

