Those Manuscripts Under the Bed

typewriter

Every author remembers their first book or short story. The one they labored over. Cried over, and most times, shoved in the closet, under the bed, buried deep in computer files, or in the garbage. I’m no different.

Last week I signed my fifth contract with Soul Mate Publishing. Thank you Debbie Gilbert for taking another chance on me. I can tell you the fifth is every bit as exciting as the first. After jumping around the living room, squealing, fist pumping the air, and scaring my daughter’s dogs, I started calling friends and family. Except for my writer friends, I’m not sure the rest understood my excitement. A comment from a sibling was: “So this isn’t just a one-time, hobby thing.” Grrrr.

It was during a conversation with a fellow author that I realized I’d received a contract for the very first romance I’d ever written. After backtracking a few years (decades) I remembered this one was started as a short story for a contest twenty years ago!! It seems like yesterday. I’m not sure what made me decide to turn the story into a book back then, but I did.

You probably wonder why it took so long for me to get this thing published (or even send it in to a publisher). I not only write romance, but history and children’s books, too. Every time I’d start working on “Never With a Rich Man,” I’d get a request for a history book. I finally gave up on the book and permanently set aside – or so I thought. Two children’s books, three military books, and four local history books later, I took the manuscript back out – and cringed. Even though I loved writing, my skills were sorely lacking. Thank heavens my writing skills have improved over the years

Each time I get edits for a romance, I learn something new. One thing I learned was this book was BORING. To me it read like a simple romance. Even though it had a happy ending, there was no conflict, no mystery, no nothing. So in-between writing other short stories and books and getting them published, I re-wrote it. And re-wrote it. And re-wrote it, never satisfied with the end result. Then I thought to add some mystery and more conflict to it.

frustration-stress-writers-block-28897150

Re-working a story is not easy. Change one thing here, and it changes ten things there. Add a smoking gun, that gun had better be in a scene somewhere else. Change a character’s name, better make sure you change it everywhere. (Thank heavens for search and replace button.) Don’t mix up characters’ names from other books. Finally, twenty years later, I sent it in, hoping I’d made the right changes. I’m glad I did

Do you still have that first manuscript hiding somewhere? Have you taken it out and tried to brush it up? It’s not easy, but sometimes it pays off.

My picture resized Tina’s book, “Riding for Love,” was published with SMP in May, 2013. Since then she has been part of three anthologies with other talented SMP authors. She can be found at:

http://www.tinasusedik.com

Twitter: @tinasusedik

Website: TinaSusedik.com

Facebook: Tina Susedik, Author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/tinasusedik

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/tinasusedik/

Buy links:

Sizzle in the Snow: Amazon: http://amzn.com/B0186SCT74

Riding for Love: http://www.amazon.com/Riding-for-Love-ebook/dp/B00CLJD31Q

My Sexy Valentine: http://amzn.com/B00SSFM1OChttp://amzn.com/B00SSFM1OC

All I Want for Christmas is a Soul Mate: http://www.amazon.com/All-I-Want-Christmas-Soulmate-ebook/dp/B00GH2I458/

About Tina Susedik, Author

Please visit my website. New updates to come.
This entry was posted in Catching Up With Tina S!, Soul Mate Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Those Manuscripts Under the Bed

  1. bonniegill says:

    Congrats!
    I have a couple of them. My first one was also super boring. I had no idea how to write or format. It’s single spaced. The premise is pretty good, but it would have to be rewritten.
    My second one is really good but needs major tweeks and editing. I’ll get back to it someday.

  2. Inspirational! Never give up; I rest my case.
    Thanks,
    Tema Merback
    Writing as Belle Ami

  3. Thanks for sharing. There is hope for me. I’ve only written one complete manuscript, written in the NaNoWriMo 2013 challenge. I believe I’ve learned a lot more about writing — still learning and reading books on the craft. I will dust that manuscript off, because I know it has potential.

  4. Sorry, I didn’t respond right away today. I was helping my daughter paint her basement. I think I need to soak in the tub now.

  5. Beth Carter says:

    Yes, I have one of those manuscripts! I thought it was lost forever in cyberspace but has since been retrieved. It’s a romantic suspense and I’ll get back to it one of these years. Congrats on contract #5.

Leave a Reply

